Runza Burritos International Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were enjoyed by the whole family! I made the meat/cabbage portion, while my daughter worked beside me making the tortillas! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummy! A quick and easy way to make "Runzas" if you've got a hankerin' for them! Thanks for the idea Virgil! I never would have thought to use tortillas in place of the bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this exactly as written. It was very good. A little "nippy" due to the red pepper flakes. My husband suggested that the next time I make this, the meat needs to be seasoned...so I will add a little salt and maybe onion powder or garlic powder when browing the meat. Thanks for the great recipe. It was easy to make and I will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These are really good! And filling! I ended up using more ground round (2 lbs), and 2 medium onions because my half head of cabbage was kind of large. These really came out delicious. My wife really dug it with sour cream, but I ate it naked. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I'll definitely be trying these--it sounds awesome. I will use low carb tortillas and make them even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Have to admit I have never had a Runza before but they sounded yummy (and I needed to use the head of cabbage in my fridge!). I scaled back on the red pepper flakes for the kids, but added some red bell pepper and a bit of shredded carrot, both for taste and a bit of color. It was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonssponge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Love this. I added a couple of chopped shitake mushrooms and julienne'd carrot coins to the veggie portion, and used smaller tortillas...rendering a serving as two smaller stuffed spinach tortillas. I served with Yogurt Spinach Dip from this site. Excellent combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Delicious. My six year old who LOVES macaroni & cheese and rates all other meals against it says it's even better than mac & cheese. I was not exact in my measurements and did add steak seasoning in lieu of salt & pepper to add a little pep (while still staying rather true to the recipe.) I also added the shredded cheese to the meat mixture just before putting in the tortillas (for simplicity sake.) Will absolutely make again! Could be an easy go to make ahead meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is an easier version of Bierock or Kraut Bergers from the Nebraska area. The original recipe does not have the red pepper flakes, cheese, or garlic, lots more black pepper and the filling is wrapped inside roll dough. Farmer's wifes would make these for Saturday night supper because they were made up earlier in the day and baked at supper time so cleanup was a breeze and then off to town they could all go for Saturday night. Love the flavor and now can enjoy them without all the mess of making the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Totally went out on a limb with this recipe, never heard of a Runza but liking spicy and reading great reviews, I decided to try it! Delicious! Boyfriend both liked it with a little sour cream! Thanks for a great NEW recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States