Runza Burritos International Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this exactly as written. It was very good. A little "nippy" due to the red pepper flakes. My husband suggested that the next time I make this, the meat needs to be seasoned...so I will add a little salt and maybe onion powder or garlic powder when browing the meat. Thanks for the great recipe. It was easy to make and I will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a variation on a Nebraska staple. In the US we are talking ground round steak which is ground beef. We used to make them with 2 pkg. of Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix, 1 head of cabbage, same ground beef, no red pepper flakes and a little Worcestershire sauce for seasoning. Use a handful of dough, , 1/4 c. filling, pinch the sides, let rise 10 min., and bake on a greased cooked sheet, at 375 for 20 minutes. Just like the ones at the Runza Hut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These are really good! And filling! I ended up using more ground round (2 lbs), and 2 medium onions because my half head of cabbage was kind of large. These really came out delicious. My wife really dug it with sour cream, but I ate it naked. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i used ground turkey instead of beef, and added chili powder and salt to make it less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Have to admit I have never had a Runza before but they sounded yummy (and I needed to use the head of cabbage in my fridge!). I scaled back on the red pepper flakes for the kids, but added some red bell pepper and a bit of shredded carrot, both for taste and a bit of color. It was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonssponge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe sounds very much like a German dish called Bierocks, only using flour tortillas instead of dough. Bierocks are really tasty and this recipe sounds like it would be also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chefbound
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
these were very yummy. i left out the onion and added some powdered onion instead and used turkey meat and flour tortilla's. very flavorful and scrumptous. a very easy and fast "go to" meal i will for sure make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummy! A quick and easy way to make "Runzas" if you've got a hankerin' for them! Thanks for the idea Virgil! I never would have thought to use tortillas in place of the bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were enjoyed by the whole family! I made the meat/cabbage portion, while my daughter worked beside me making the tortillas! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These were really good....I added a can of tomato sauce because I thought they might be a little dry and they turned out tasting like cabbage rolls...Anyone who loves cabbage rolls should try that the next time they make these....Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States