Runza Burritos International Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this exactly as written. It was very good. A little "nippy" due to the red pepper flakes. My husband suggested that the next time I make this, the meat needs to be seasoned...so I will add a little salt and maybe onion powder or garlic powder when browing the meat. Thanks for the great recipe. It was easy to make and I will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a variation on a Nebraska staple. In the US we are talking ground round steak which is ground beef. We used to make them with 2 pkg. of Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix, 1 head of cabbage, same ground beef, no red pepper flakes and a little Worcestershire sauce for seasoning. Use a handful of dough, , 1/4 c. filling, pinch the sides, let rise 10 min., and bake on a greased cooked sheet, at 375 for 20 minutes. Just like the ones at the Runza Hut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These are really good! And filling! I ended up using more ground round (2 lbs), and 2 medium onions because my half head of cabbage was kind of large. These really came out delicious. My wife really dug it with sour cream, but I ate it naked. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i used ground turkey instead of beef, and added chili powder and salt to make it less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Have to admit I have never had a Runza before but they sounded yummy (and I needed to use the head of cabbage in my fridge!). I scaled back on the red pepper flakes for the kids, but added some red bell pepper and a bit of shredded carrot, both for taste and a bit of color. It was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonssponge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe sounds very much like a German dish called Bierocks, only using flour tortillas instead of dough. Bierocks are really tasty and this recipe sounds like it would be also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chefbound
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
these were very yummy. i left out the onion and added some powdered onion instead and used turkey meat and flour tortilla's. very flavorful and scrumptous. a very easy and fast "go to" meal i will for sure make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummy! A quick and easy way to make "Runzas" if you've got a hankerin' for them! Thanks for the idea Virgil! I never would have thought to use tortillas in place of the bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were enjoyed by the whole family! I made the meat/cabbage portion, while my daughter worked beside me making the tortillas! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These were really good....I added a can of tomato sauce because I thought they might be a little dry and they turned out tasting like cabbage rolls...Anyone who loves cabbage rolls should try that the next time they make these....Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States