Runza Burritos International Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummy! A quick and easy way to make "Runzas" if you've got a hankerin' for them! Thanks for the idea Virgil! I never would have thought to use tortillas in place of the bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were enjoyed by the whole family! I made the meat/cabbage portion, while my daughter worked beside me making the tortillas! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chefbound
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
these were very yummy. i left out the onion and added some powdered onion instead and used turkey meat and flour tortilla's. very flavorful and scrumptous. a very easy and fast "go to" meal i will for sure make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this exactly as written. It was very good. A little "nippy" due to the red pepper flakes. My husband suggested that the next time I make this, the meat needs to be seasoned...so I will add a little salt and maybe onion powder or garlic powder when browing the meat. Thanks for the great recipe. It was easy to make and I will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i used ground turkey instead of beef, and added chili powder and salt to make it less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These are really good! And filling! I ended up using more ground round (2 lbs), and 2 medium onions because my half head of cabbage was kind of large. These really came out delicious. My wife really dug it with sour cream, but I ate it naked. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I'll definitely be trying these--it sounds awesome. I will use low carb tortillas and make them even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe sounds very much like a German dish called Bierocks, only using flour tortillas instead of dough. Bierocks are really tasty and this recipe sounds like it would be also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Alternatives: Crescent rolls, hamburger buns, sauerkraut for cabbage, turkey for beef, chili powder instead of red pepper flakes. Might try mild cannned chopped chili peppers. Since it's a burrito I'd also check out different kinds of salsa, guacamole, sour cream, olives, taco chips or maybe a layered bean dip. Accompaniments might include orange or watermelon with lime juice, or a salad of fruit, a potato or macaroni. or fruit salad. Can't give it 5 stars because red pepper flakes usually aren't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a variation on a Nebraska staple. In the US we are talking ground round steak which is ground beef. We used to make them with 2 pkg. of Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix, 1 head of cabbage, same ground beef, no red pepper flakes and a little Worcestershire sauce for seasoning. Use a handful of dough, , 1/4 c. filling, pinch the sides, let rise 10 min., and bake on a greased cooked sheet, at 375 for 20 minutes. Just like the ones at the Runza Hut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States