Runaway Bay Jamaican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
It's too bad somebody messed up their rating for this recipe, because it's got a really terrific flavor. My only changes were to cut the recipe down to 2 servings, but I still used a whole habanero (3x the listed amount), and I left in the seeds and veins. I used half the suggested amount of cilantro, dried instead of fresh, and broiled the chicken for 20 minutes instead of grilling. With the extra, unseeded pepper this was extremely hot, but still irresistable! Next time, and there will be a next time, I'll probably remove about half the pepper seeds, and use a little less cinnamon, and will definitely serve this with applesauce or something else to help cut the heat. If you aren't familiar with habaneros, they're one of the hottest peppers you can get, but they have a unique sweet taste that goes fantastic with chicken (and IMHO they freeze really well), so don't substitute if you can avoid it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This takes a little effort to mix up in the food processer ( I hate to clean it), but it was well worth it. I had to use garlic powder, ground ginger and jalapenos from a jar, but it was yummy.I used fresh cilantro from the garden and it gave it a great flavor. I marinated it all day then grilled it and had leftovers the next day for a grilled chicken salad for lunch. I look forward to using this recipe again! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Made this last night for my husband and company. I 1.5 the recipe and used about 12 breasts and there was plenty of marinade - I even saved some to brush on during cooking. I used 2 seeded jalepeno peppers instead of habanero becasue i was afraid it would be too hot. Turns out, it could have been hotter. Next time, I will use 4 jalepeno peppers. This was great and everyone raved - I will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bumgardner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This is my favorite chicken dish now. It has such a unique flavor but it is so tasty. I first found it when my daughter needed a recipe for a project on jamaica and figured oh what the heck we will try it! The one thing I substitute is the habanero I think they are a little to spicy so I use anahiem and they are REALLY good. I Make this all of the time now and I am addicted to it. My Family loves it too! Thank you so much for introducing this to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I thought I'd hate it since it called for cilantro but it was good and we had no leftovers which is high praise from my family. If you like cilantro than you'll love this. If you're not a fan the flavor is not overpowering. The spice combination did not overpower the meat so I wouldn't decrease the spices. And the brown sugar made a nice carmelized browning since the breasts I used were skinless. This would be good with turkey too. I found it made alot of marinade. I did up 6 breasts and I had lots leftover so I froze it. Hopefully it will keep well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I thought this was fantastic. I wasn't too sure of it by the smell when I was marinating it but once I put it on the grill it started smelling wonderful. My fiance ate FIVE pieces of it. The only change I made was using a jalepeno instead of a habenero. I didn't want the heat to take away from the flavor. Also, make sure you marinate it for atleast 8 hours. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Fantastic flavor! I doubled the sauce and used it to make chicken wings for a Caribbean-themed party - they were awesome and got rave reviews! I did tweak the recipe slightly by adding lime juice and a bit of coconut milk. To make wings: Bake wings according to directions on bag, then baste with sauce and bake 10-15 minutes longer on each side (baste again after turning over). Put them in a crock pot and add the leftover sauce. Keep warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This stuff is fantastic! Made it with chicken tenders on skewers. I put this together and took it with us camping last weekend. It was a big hit and I'm making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
really good. Used 1 Jalepeno. Next time will use 2 Marinated for 6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My husband and I love this recipe; it really reminds us of Jamaica! You can add or not add anything and it'll still turn out great. I make a double recipe and use 1/2 to marinate the chicken, and then cook the other 1/2 in a sauce pan on the grill to pour on top of the cooked chicken, so it's extra saucy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States