Runaway Bay Jamaican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
It's too bad somebody messed up their rating for this recipe, because it's got a really terrific flavor. My only changes were to cut the recipe down to 2 servings, but I still used a whole habanero (3x the listed amount), and I left in the seeds and veins. I used half the suggested amount of cilantro, dried instead of fresh, and broiled the chicken for 20 minutes instead of grilling. With the extra, unseeded pepper this was extremely hot, but still irresistable! Next time, and there will be a next time, I'll probably remove about half the pepper seeds, and use a little less cinnamon, and will definitely serve this with applesauce or something else to help cut the heat. If you aren't familiar with habaneros, they're one of the hottest peppers you can get, but they have a unique sweet taste that goes fantastic with chicken (and IMHO they freeze really well), so don't substitute if you can avoid it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME... When I found it I wanted to make it right away so I only marinated it for about 3 hrs with the chicken cut up in chunks for skewers on the grill... it tasted great with the grilled veggies. I also used jalapeno in it instead of habanero, next time I will go with the habanero. My boyfriend raved about it he can't wait till we make it again. I made coconut black bean rice from this site to go with it and it paired really well. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I started to prepare this and overlooked the "overnight" part. I didn't have time to marinade for even half the amount of time and it still came out great! To get a milder spicy result I subbed jalapeno for habanero and didn't allow too many seeds in the mix. Combo of ingredients is so unique, in the end you should taste everything, the cloves, cinnamon, brown sugar, mmmmmmm, can't wait to make again! Thanks Janis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I've been in jamaica many times, and pretty much found this recipe to be quite boring. I thought the habenero's would kick it up, but not really. Will look for something with more taste and will toss this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I thought this was fantastic. I wasn't too sure of it by the smell when I was marinating it but once I put it on the grill it started smelling wonderful. My fiance ate FIVE pieces of it. The only change I made was using a jalepeno instead of a habenero. I didn't want the heat to take away from the flavor. Also, make sure you marinate it for atleast 8 hours. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
it is cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I thought I'd hate it since it called for cilantro but it was good and we had no leftovers which is high praise from my family. If you like cilantro than you'll love this. If you're not a fan the flavor is not overpowering. The spice combination did not overpower the meat so I wouldn't decrease the spices. And the brown sugar made a nice carmelized browning since the breasts I used were skinless. This would be good with turkey too. I found it made alot of marinade. I did up 6 breasts and I had lots leftover so I froze it. Hopefully it will keep well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This marinade recipe is fantastic and so versatile! I decided to try it, because I my boyfriend and I recently went to jamaica and he loved the jerk chicken. Although this is not as spicy made as it, still excellent and you can make it spicy to taste. It is slightly a pain to make, but has superb flavor that everyone raved about. I made a huge batch to keep some on hand, so it is worth the hassle. It can even be used to make a quick and tasty pasta sauce with some added milk or cream. Thank you for the favorable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Made this last night for my husband and company. I 1.5 the recipe and used about 12 breasts and there was plenty of marinade - I even saved some to brush on during cooking. I used 2 seeded jalepeno peppers instead of habanero becasue i was afraid it would be too hot. Turns out, it could have been hotter. Next time, I will use 4 jalepeno peppers. This was great and everyone raved - I will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bumgardner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This takes a little effort to mix up in the food processer ( I hate to clean it), but it was well worth it. I had to use garlic powder, ground ginger and jalapenos from a jar, but it was yummy.I used fresh cilantro from the garden and it gave it a great flavor. I marinated it all day then grilled it and had leftovers the next day for a grilled chicken salad for lunch. I look forward to using this recipe again! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States