Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This, although tasty, isn't quite what I consider to be a traditional Derby Pie. Derby Pie is a little more moist and fudgy than this lighter version. (Almost a brownie texture) Walnuts are traditional, but I think pecans would have been better. (Just a matter of taste.) Keep it authentic and use a small-batch Kentucky Bourbon. (I used Woodford Reserve.) Make sure you serve warm with a scoop of vanilla bean. Enjoy...and make sure to wear your flashy hat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This pie just won me 1st prize in a pie bake-off with 50 other pies. Turned out great on my first try. Very easy to make and set up nicely. I used a few variations: add some spice with dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg; use dark chocolate chips for more intensity; and coffee liquore instead of bourbon. I know these variations may make it less "traditional" but this recipe overall is a genuine 1st Place Winner. Thanks, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I have made this countless times. Added vanilla extract as well as quite a bit more bourbon. Also, used a whole package of chocolate chips. Made this the day before for a friend's birthday. Also, makes great tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This recipe is great! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I find it very hard to tell when it's done so sometimes it's over/under-done. The only ingredient alteration I make is adding a little extra bourbon and vanilla. After everyone loved the pie, I made these in bar form for a picnic: they turned out GREAT! For a 9x9 pan, I used 1.5 times the recipe. One circular pie crust still covers the bottom of the pan - I cut off the excess crust about 1/4" up the sides. Baked for 30-35 minutes. COOL COMPLETELY before you cut them into squares. Next time, I'll double the recipe and use a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
This recipe was great. I had been looking for this recipe for a while. The only thing I will do differently next time is add vanilla to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I made this pie for my husband who is a chocolate chip cookie hound. He loved it! The only change I will make when I make it tomorrow for the Race is that I will substitute brown sugar for the granulated. A personal choice, as the granulated sugar alone seemed a bit lacking in "oomph". Otherwise, a luscious and decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
From a girl who was born and raised in Louisville, KY, this a darn good rendition of a Derby favorite :) I've tried quite a few Derby Pie recipes and for how simple this is and how good it tastes, this is my new favorite! I don't do alcohol in my recipes, but I did add some pure vanilla as suggested. This was a HIT with family and friends and, most importantly, with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This recipe is wonderful and very easy! This pie is better than the same pie at a very exclusive restaurant in our town. I'd recommend making two and taking one to a friend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This pie is absolutely one of my favorites. I have had something similar in local steak restaraunt but this tops it. I shouldn't give the kid friendly rating because we kept this one to ourselves. (Told the kids it had yukky stuff in it) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I didn't have any bourbon, so used kahlua liquer instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States