Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Ever since I first made this as part of our Kentucky Derby celebration, I cannot stop making it. It was a huge hit, my family requests it constantly! What makes this so great is it is as easy to make as it is yummy. I use a whole cup of chips instead of the 3/4 indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJELLA5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
What a wonderful treat and great addition to our Kentucky Derby Party. I only thing I would suggest is to be sure to serve this pie with some ice cream or Cool Whip. Thanks for sharing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Awesome recipe! Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This is a great Kentucky Derby Pie. I did halve the Bourbon and it still had plenty of Bourbon flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Very good recipe - I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I found that in my (gas) oven it took about 45 minutes to bake. I actually made two of these pies, one using vanilla instead of bourbon, and discovered that both tasted equally good. Thanks for the recipe - it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This, although tasty, isn't quite what I consider to be a traditional Derby Pie. Derby Pie is a little more moist and fudgy than this lighter version. (Almost a brownie texture) Walnuts are traditional, but I think pecans would have been better. (Just a matter of taste.) Keep it authentic and use a small-batch Kentucky Bourbon. (I used Woodford Reserve.) Make sure you serve warm with a scoop of vanilla bean. Enjoy...and make sure to wear your flashy hat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I didn't have any bourbon, so used kahlua liquer instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Yummy, quick, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This pie is absolutely one of my favorites. I have had something similar in local steak restaraunt but this tops it. I shouldn't give the kid friendly rating because we kept this one to ourselves. (Told the kids it had yukky stuff in it) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
this is good and easy, but really rich, so cut SMALL pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States