Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe - I made it for my inlaws over the Holidays and they loved it. I also used more Bourbon and Vanilla. This is a super easy dessert that tastes like it took forever - a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This recipe is great! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I find it very hard to tell when it's done so sometimes it's over/under-done. The only ingredient alteration I make is adding a little extra bourbon and vanilla. After everyone loved the pie, I made these in bar form for a picnic: they turned out GREAT! For a 9x9 pan, I used 1.5 times the recipe. One circular pie crust still covers the bottom of the pan - I cut off the excess crust about 1/4" up the sides. Baked for 30-35 minutes. COOL COMPLETELY before you cut them into squares. Next time, I'll double the recipe and use a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
From a girl who was born and raised in Louisville, KY, this a darn good rendition of a Derby favorite :) I've tried quite a few Derby Pie recipes and for how simple this is and how good it tastes, this is my new favorite! I don't do alcohol in my recipes, but I did add some pure vanilla as suggested. This was a HIT with family and friends and, most importantly, with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was devoured at last year's Derby Party! Easy to make and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I have made this countless times. Added vanilla extract as well as quite a bit more bourbon. Also, used a whole package of chocolate chips. Made this the day before for a friend's birthday. Also, makes great tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was delicious. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I only used 2 tsp. of bourbon, because I didn't have much, and felt this was sufficient. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGRILLON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This pie was delicious and very easy to make. It was quite rich though, so be prepared with some whipped cream or ice cream. It baked up beautifully with a nice crust of cooked sugar on top. It was a perfect end for our Thanksgiving dinner (celebrated a bit early)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Farrer Stelma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This pie was very good, but I wanted a little stronger bourbon flavor. I would probably double the amount of bourbon in the pie next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This pie just won me 1st prize in a pie bake-off with 50 other pies. Turned out great on my first try. Very easy to make and set up nicely. I used a few variations: add some spice with dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg; use dark chocolate chips for more intensity; and coffee liquore instead of bourbon. I know these variations may make it less "traditional" but this recipe overall is a genuine 1st Place Winner. Thanks, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
ok pie, as a ky gal i can say this one is not even CLOSE to derby pie :-(, so if that's what you are going for try something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States