Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Overall not bad, but I would recommend adding at least 1/2 cup bourbon because it gets lost in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
It doesn't get any easier than this. It tasted like a giant chocolate chip, nut cookie! It was really good. We served it at room temp but I think next time I will try to plan on it still being slightly warm when served. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was so easy to make.I made it for my Kentucky Derby Party.Everyone ate it up.I am going to experiment with different chips and nuts.Great for a last minute treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Like many recipes this seemed to be one that was what you made of it. I read others' suggestions and used pecans rather than walnuts, and I used raw turbinado sugar instead of granulated sugar. Woodford Reserve is the bourbon I keep on hand for recipes, and that lent a very nice flavor to the pie. I doubled the recipe and I ended up stirring the batter in with the filling a little--the batter was too thick to really mingle with the chocolate and nuts, so I helped it out. Served this with vanilla Blue Bell ice cream and it was absolutely divine. Both pies were inhaled by fellow Derby partygoers with great enthusiasm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
this is a tasty pie. it is on my kentucky derby dinner menu. easy enough, so i make 2 of them. they are rich but well worth it. bet on this one, it is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Delicious, though not what I anticipated. I thought it would be similar to a pecan pie, but it is more like a deep dish chocolate chip cookie. I baked one for Thanksgiving day and another one the following day since I had ingrediants. I used Southern Comfort instead of Bourbon and it was just fine. I put 2 tablespoons in the second one and it did not alter the consistency. I are with a few dollops of cool whip. This is a keeper! Fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
delicious pie! a little too sweet, but much better than using karo syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Right, it's not like the original Derby pie...IT'S BETTER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettohara66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I made this pie for my husband who is a chocolate chip cookie hound. He loved it! The only change I will make when I make it tomorrow for the Race is that I will substitute brown sugar for the granulated. A personal choice, as the granulated sugar alone seemed a bit lacking in "oomph". Otherwise, a luscious and decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe - I made it for my inlaws over the Holidays and they loved it. I also used more Bourbon and Vanilla. This is a super easy dessert that tastes like it took forever - a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States