Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Liked this, didn't LOVE it. Super easy though! Wish I had had this warm from the oven, might have loved it more, but made ahead of time due to needing the oven for other things. Anyway, put homemade vanilla ice cream on this. Of course, it was yummy, just didn't blow me away enough to want to make again. :-( Made exactly as stated, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this last night. It was easy enough, which is the good part. All the chocolate chips did not completely melt. It just does not have the consistency or a real, or regular, chocolate pie. I did not use the bourbon because I dont like the flavor of alcohol. The flavor was good though. I recommend taking the extra time and melting baking chocolate instead of using chips. I did not try this with this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was great! I made it exactly to the recipe and the only change I will make next time (yes, there will definitely be a next time) is to add more bourbon for a stronger taste. I also might try a different liquor in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Arlington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This is a great pie! I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and was generous with the walnuts, plus I doubled the chocolate chips (all bc I was using a 9 inch shell), but that was just my preference! I was wonderful as is! Thanks, Judi! This is a keeper! You made my Derby Party dessert a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Fabulous Derby Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Goodness - where has this recipe been hiding? I absolutely love how easy and delicious this is. I agree with others - this is a great chocolate chip cookie pie and MUST be served warm from the oven with whipped cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but it didn't stand out as a keeper for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was very good, although I wish it would have had a bit more pecan-pie texture and taste to it. I think I might try brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB3267

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Let me preface my review by saying I have never had a Kentucky Derby Pie before. Therefore, I have nothing to compare this to or to know whether or not it is authentic. I also subbed vanilla for the bourbon since I was sending this to school for a social studies project on US regions. With that said, I thought it was very good! Like other reviewers said, it is reminiscient of a big chocolate chip cookie. Especially good warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
What a great recipe. This improved on my mom's family recipe that she taught me years ago. I stuck with some of my own stuff though for some items: 1. used 1 teaspoon vanilla and no bourbon. 2. I used 1 egg yolk instead of 2 eggs for a more gooey pie. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States