Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This recipe is unbelievable. I make a nice size roast and there are no leftovers. It's got a nice kick, but not overwhelming. The au jus is wonderful. I like to freeze anything that is left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I didn't use the juice, it was to fatty strained or not. Excellent roast for sandwiches. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I've never done a roast with a rub before, it was really nice. I'll use alittle less cayenne next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
My husband loves this recipe! He is very picky and usually does not express much pleasure over any food or recipe unless it's absolutely fantastic. I liked it, too, except I would prefer less chili powder since I don't go for very hot and spicy dishes. It was too spicy for our 4 year old daughter. Use the leftovers to make fantastic open-faced beef, and mashed potato sandwiches on white bread(preferably homemade)! Use the leftover juices to make a gravy. My husband raved over this leftover dish also, and he usually despises leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
This was a wonderfully simple way to prepare a roast and the results were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Fantastic recipe. I've done it several times and get rave reviews every time. I reduce the cooking time to just under 9 hours to prevent the meat from drying out so much, and I don't strain the liquid, just scoop off the fat. WARNING! This makes the jus quite spicy, but that's the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe...with a few changes. I cut the amount of spices in half and cut the amount of cayenne in half again (used a little over 1/8 tsp). I had a 3 lb. roast, and it turned out very flavorful with the perfect amount of spiciness! I also added sliced onions to cook along with the roast, and they were great served with the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Thank-you Ardith for this recipe as my family loved it! It was so easy to prepare. As the roast cooked it filled the house with a pleasant aroma of the meal yet to come. I served it with mash potatoes and a side of crusty bread and we enjoyed! i have prepared this several times and each time we eat it we enjoy it even more. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This roast was OUTSTANDING! The best one I've fixed in a long time. It sliced down wonderfully and was so tender! The au jus was SO flavorful! I made a few changes ~ I cut the spices in 1/2 since so many said it was way too spicy. I replaced the water with beef broth and used 1 whole cup instead of 1/2 a cup. I also added a packet of onion soup mix. It was delish! Thanks so much Ardith!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I thought this was very good. I don't have alot of time in the morning, so I rubbed it down at night and put it into the crock. In the morning I put it on, adding the water. I cooked it about 9 hours. I also cut the spices in half. Very tender, not too spicy at all. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodylane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States