Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
My husband loves this recipe! He is very picky and usually does not express much pleasure over any food or recipe unless it's absolutely fantastic. I liked it, too, except I would prefer less chili powder since I don't go for very hot and spicy dishes. It was too spicy for our 4 year old daughter. Use the leftovers to make fantastic open-faced beef, and mashed potato sandwiches on white bread(preferably homemade)! Use the leftover juices to make a gravy. My husband raved over this leftover dish also, and he usually despises leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
I found this to be really good but fairly spicy. I only rubbed half the spices on the roast and that was enough for me. My husband thought it was good and I will make it again but will cut down on the red peppers and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
This was a wonderfully simple way to prepare a roast and the results were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I've never done a roast with a rub before, it was really nice. I'll use alittle less cayenne next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
This roast has good zip to it! And it's sooo easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
I found this recipe way too spicy-this is Rump Roast, not Chili! If I made it again, which I don't think I will, I would cut down on the Cayenne, Chili Powder, AND the Black Pepper. My husband usually likes spicy stuff, and this was too much for him, also. It was easy to make, but I would not use this combination of spices again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Moulds Blonigen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Don't use as much spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Fantastic recipe. I've done it several times and get rave reviews every time. I reduce the cooking time to just under 9 hours to prevent the meat from drying out so much, and I don't strain the liquid, just scoop off the fat. WARNING! This makes the jus quite spicy, but that's the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I didn't use the juice, it was to fatty strained or not. Excellent roast for sandwiches. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This recipe is unbelievable. I make a nice size roast and there are no leftovers. It's got a nice kick, but not overwhelming. The au jus is wonderful. I like to freeze anything that is left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States