Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Easy recipe for a nice peppery rump roast. Watch cooking time as that will toughen the roast. Slice thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
YUMMY! We, my husband & I , really like this recipe. Only change, instead of water used red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Cooked it for 8 plus hours in the crock pot. Did what many reviewers said and added 2 cups of chicken broth (we didn't have any beef broth). Our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was so yummy. My husband ate again the next night. I have passed the recipe to several family members giving 5 stars. I followed some suggestions from other reviews using several garlic cloves sliced into meat and beef bullion. I served on hoggie rolls and toasted in broiler to melt cheese. Then served au jus. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novella
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I have made this recipe numorous times for my husband. I was a little hesitant the first time I made it due to the spices in it but I love it as well. I make it just how it calls for and love it. This is one recipe I haven't "made my own" by doing anything different due to I like it just how it is. It's great when company comes over and everyone I have fed it too loves it as well. I make some home made bread to go with it and a salad or potatoe and it makes a great meal. Leftovers are good as a sandwich the next day or reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
tasty and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this yesterday for the second time and I just love it for French dip sandwiches. I combine the spices exactly as the recipe calls for.....but depending on the size of the rump roast, I might not use all of this rub. I cook in my crock pot on low for 8 - 10 hours. Only thing I do different is use about 2 cups of unsalted beef stock in place of the 1/2 cup of water. (I like to use this for French dip so I want more liquid). After cooking, I put the crock pot liner in my fridge over night. Next morning, skim off the fat that accumulates, slice the roast as thinly as I can and load it all back into the crock pot on "keep warm." (I add just a touch of salt at this point since I use unsalted beef stock and there is no salt in the spice rub.) Sliced hoagie rolls, sauteed onions and whatever cheese makes you happy (I like Swiss, kids like american, others like provolone). Pile it all on the roll, a few minutes under the broiler to melt the cheese....some aus jus on the side and we are all happy. Not too spicy at all. Simply perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great dish, easy and straight to the point. I decreased the chili powder to 1 tsp and cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp to my taste, but other than that everyone enjoyed it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It was alright...way too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Before you say "its spicy" DH and I LOVE flavorful and spicy foods but this had way too much chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States