Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
We cut back on the spices. Can always dd more later if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
So very good. Didn't last long in this house. We liked the kick. We used it for French dip sandwiches. Nom! Nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blkcat118

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My Husband and I love this recipe. I've made it multiple times. The only thing that I changed was I added more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious moist roast with a little kick. Came out very tender, you could cut with a fork. The spices give it a little kick but not too strong. I also made a creamy horseradish sauce to go with the meat. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This came out more like a roast beef than a pot roast, but still very delicious. The spice rub on the outside was fantastic. But I used fresh ground pepper, which I'm guessing maybe others did as well when they criticize the dish for being too spicy. I cut slits in the meat and stuffed in with garlic cloves as well. I cooked it on a bed of carrots, celery and onion. Placed the meat on top. Added the water to the veggies. So the water never touched the meat until later in cooking. Because of this it wasn't pull apart tender, but still delicious. I did thicken the au jus with some corn starch (for a completely gluten free recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This turned out really well for us. I was concerned about the lack of liquid initially but the juices start oozing and eventually there was a lot. I took it out at 8 hours and let it rest for 2 before I went to slice and realized that it would actually pull. That was a nice surprise as we were using it for sandwiches. I strained the fat from the juice and put the pulled meat back into the liquid. I'm sure that made it even better. Making this again for football on Sunday. Go Bills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I found it to be way too spicy--too much chili powder, perhaps? I added potatoes and carrots with three hours left to cook and they turned out great...just wish the meat and au jus weren't so fiery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very easy and came out great. I used Curry powder instead of Chili Powder. Also added Onion powder and it came out very good!!! It added a sweet hint to the meat and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was a great meal after a long day at work. I did not use mustard powder in the spice mix, but I don't think it was missed. I seasoned the roast with oil, salt and pepper then i browned the roast in the oven at 500 convection for 20 - 30 min. I then rubbed the roast with seasoning and placed in the slow cooker. Instead of water I deglazed the roasting pan with 1 cup of beef broth. I then pored the broth over the roast. Cooked for 8 - 9 hours on low and strained the jus. Served the roast with roasted veggies (potatoes, bell peppers, zucchini, mushrooms)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Husband loved it. Sauce has just a tiny bit of a kick. Very easy to put together quickly and toss in the crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States