Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Fantastic recipe. I've done it several times and get rave reviews every time. I reduce the cooking time to just under 9 hours to prevent the meat from drying out so much, and I don't strain the liquid, just scoop off the fat. WARNING! This makes the jus quite spicy, but that's the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I didn't use the juice, it was to fatty strained or not. Excellent roast for sandwiches. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This recipe is unbelievable. I make a nice size roast and there are no leftovers. It's got a nice kick, but not overwhelming. The au jus is wonderful. I like to freeze anything that is left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
My husband loves this recipe! He is very picky and usually does not express much pleasure over any food or recipe unless it's absolutely fantastic. I liked it, too, except I would prefer less chili powder since I don't go for very hot and spicy dishes. It was too spicy for our 4 year old daughter. Use the leftovers to make fantastic open-faced beef, and mashed potato sandwiches on white bread(preferably homemade)! Use the leftover juices to make a gravy. My husband raved over this leftover dish also, and he usually despises leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
This was a wonderfully simple way to prepare a roast and the results were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
I've never done a roast with a rub before, it was really nice. I'll use alittle less cayenne next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe...with a few changes. I cut the amount of spices in half and cut the amount of cayenne in half again (used a little over 1/8 tsp). I had a 3 lb. roast, and it turned out very flavorful with the perfect amount of spiciness! I also added sliced onions to cook along with the roast, and they were great served with the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Thank-you Ardith for this recipe as my family loved it! It was so easy to prepare. As the roast cooked it filled the house with a pleasant aroma of the meal yet to come. I served it with mash potatoes and a side of crusty bread and we enjoyed! i have prepared this several times and each time we eat it we enjoy it even more. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This roast was OUTSTANDING! The best one I've fixed in a long time. It sliced down wonderfully and was so tender! The au jus was SO flavorful! I made a few changes ~ I cut the spices in 1/2 since so many said it was way too spicy. I replaced the water with beef broth and used 1 whole cup instead of 1/2 a cup. I also added a packet of onion soup mix. It was delish! Thanks so much Ardith!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I thought this was very good. I don't have alot of time in the morning, so I rubbed it down at night and put it into the crock. In the morning I put it on, adding the water. I cooked it about 9 hours. I also cut the spices in half. Very tender, not too spicy at all. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodylane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States