Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Needs a little salt. Au jus a bit lite on flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I found this recipe on Dinner Spinner app on my iPhone. Made it EXACTLY as described. And it is AWESOME. My hubby can't keep his hands off that rump. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T. I thought this was a pretty good! It had a nice little kick to it! I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMK1K2K3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a nice change to how I usually make a roast. I usually just throw in a package of onion soup mix with water and add some salt and pepper. But I thought I'd try something new. My husband loved it. He loves spicy things. It was very good and I will definately use it again. Tomorrow I will follow some of the other reviewer's advice and make some sandwiches with the leftovers. Thank You for the great idea!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
good gravy, meat was dry, overcooked, roast was 3.5 lb. get bigger roast or cook less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I might not be accustomed to this particular type of meat, but it came out chewy. I did increase the water to 2 cups and added the instant french onion soup mix. I slow cooked for 10 hours. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe was great! I made one change and added 2 cups of water instead of just 1/2 cup. The spice mix was amazing and after 8 hours on low and then 3 hours on "Keep Warm" in the crockpot it was very juicy and tasted great. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
The sauce was very spicy. You may want to cut the spices in half if you don't like spicy food. I turned my sauce into gravy since the family prefers roast with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I didn't have all the "rub" spices called for in the original recipe, so I toyed with a few that I had on hand. I also added a packet of onion mushroom soup mix to the rub mixture. Rather than water, I used 2 cups of beef stock. I also quartered a large onion, laid the quarters on the bottom of the crock pot, and placed the roast on top. I followed other people's advice and turned the roast over a few times in the 8 hours cooking time. The au-jus came out wonderfully and the roast was juicy and flavorful. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peralta, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe as is, except lessened the pepper b/c I was feeding it to my 16 month old daughter. It came out pretty bland (still peppery) and dry. I ended up cutting it and letting it sit in the juice another hour and made an au jus by straining it and then adding some lipton onion mushroom dry soup mix to it to give it flavor. Served w/ mashed potatoes and asparagus. A good base recipe and will make changes like maybe adding an onion and some garlic to the water and using beef stock instead of water. Because it was dry and requires me to make so many changes to make this decent that I had to give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States