Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I read the comments and took the advice to use less pepper and half a cup of red wine. I didn't measure very specifically and I used garlic salt instead of celery salt. The rump roast I used had probably been in the freezer for a year it turned out really good. I am not much of a cook at all, so it's an easy one to pull off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Needs a little salt. Au jus a bit lite on flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I found this recipe on Dinner Spinner app on my iPhone. Made it EXACTLY as described. And it is AWESOME. My hubby can't keep his hands off that rump. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T. I thought this was a pretty good! It had a nice little kick to it! I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMK1K2K3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a nice change to how I usually make a roast. I usually just throw in a package of onion soup mix with water and add some salt and pepper. But I thought I'd try something new. My husband loved it. He loves spicy things. It was very good and I will definately use it again. Tomorrow I will follow some of the other reviewer's advice and make some sandwiches with the leftovers. Thank You for the great idea!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
good gravy, meat was dry, overcooked, roast was 3.5 lb. get bigger roast or cook less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I might not be accustomed to this particular type of meat, but it came out chewy. I did increase the water to 2 cups and added the instant french onion soup mix. I slow cooked for 10 hours. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe was great! I made one change and added 2 cups of water instead of just 1/2 cup. The spice mix was amazing and after 8 hours on low and then 3 hours on "Keep Warm" in the crockpot it was very juicy and tasted great. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
The sauce was very spicy. You may want to cut the spices in half if you don't like spicy food. I turned my sauce into gravy since the family prefers roast with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I didn't have all the "rub" spices called for in the original recipe, so I toyed with a few that I had on hand. I also added a packet of onion mushroom soup mix to the rub mixture. Rather than water, I used 2 cups of beef stock. I also quartered a large onion, laid the quarters on the bottom of the crock pot, and placed the roast on top. I followed other people's advice and turned the roast over a few times in the 8 hours cooking time. The au-jus came out wonderfully and the roast was juicy and flavorful. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peralta, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States