Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Good, tender and moist. Although, I didn't add cayenne or chili powder. Didn't have any and we're not big on 'hot' stuff. Was easy and made the house smell good, too. Gravy was tasty, too. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
WOW, this was so tender and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used this on some venison rump that I had. I also added a lipton onion soup packet and made it as a sandwich with au jus dip. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I have made my roasts this way for years and it's the only way they turn out tender and not dry. The only thing I do different is I use 1 cup of beef broth made with the sodium free beef boullion since my husband has to watch his sodium intake, and I sprinkle garlic powder and cracked pepper on top. I usually start it the night before since I work the midnight shift and take it out by afternoon. We then use the leftovers for beef soup. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
this is a nice change of pace from traditional pot roast. i made some changes which gave the meat, onion, potatoes and liquid a nice flavor. brown the meat and partially browne 2 whole onions added the liquid to the drippings-1/4 c.cider vinegar and 1/4c water, instead. for the dried rub which i let marinate while the partially defrosted meat was thawing. i used picante(goya) seasonings and the rest was pretty much the same. new twist on old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Fantastic! I did make some changes to the ingredients. For 1.75lb rump roast I used 1/2 tsp pepper, paprika, celery, onion seasoning, 1 tsp chopped garlic. Mix in small bowl, I added 1-2 Tbls Honey Mustard, spread the mixture over the roast let it sit overnight. The gravy and roast was fantastic!! I did not add potatoes or veggies, I served mashed potatoes and veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was great!! I wanted a simple way to cook a rump roast and I found it. I did not need to change the recipe at all. I cut it thinly and served on hoagie buns with melted cheddar cheese. My kids loved it. Not to spicy and not bland at all. They said it was better than anything Arby's has. We will have it again. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found that the roast was extremely dry. Pouring the Au Jus or drippings over it helped some once it was cut up or shredded but didn't add a lot of flavor. It just tasted like a nothing special roast to me. It was simple to do though and an inexpensive way to feed a group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Great recipe, worked wonderful with an Antelope Rump Roast I had. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I used a smaller cut of meat--1 1/2 lb-- since it's just two of us so it takes less than half the time. I stuck to the intent of the recipe, but didn't use chili powder or cayenne since I don't keep them around. Instead, I used onion powder and steak seasoning with the other spices. It was delicious! My husband and I are both picky especially with lower quality meats, but this is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States