Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made this recipe this morning and it was ready when I got home. I wasn't sure if this was going to be too spicy for the kids, but I took some meat off for them then shredded the rest and let it sit in the sauce. Yummy! I do wish there was more Au Jus though. As soon as I looked at the shredded meat I thought, taco or burrito. I sauteed onion, garlic, mushroom and peppers topped with shredded mozzarella cheese and placed the mixture plus the beef on a pan warmed tortilla then added sour cream. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed this to the letter and we enjoyed it very much. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because for some reason, I really didn't have enough au jus to pour over anything but the roast itself. I had hoped to have some for the tiny boiled potatoes I served alongside. That's probably my own mistake because I thought I had read a review that said it made enough to pour over potatoes. I will try this one again and will increase the ingredients for the au jus/gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Easy recipe for a nice peppery rump roast. Watch cooking time as that will toughen the roast. Slice thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
YUMMY! We, my husband & I , really like this recipe. Only change, instead of water used red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Cooked it for 8 plus hours in the crock pot. Did what many reviewers said and added 2 cups of chicken broth (we didn't have any beef broth). Our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was so yummy. My husband ate again the next night. I have passed the recipe to several family members giving 5 stars. I followed some suggestions from other reviews using several garlic cloves sliced into meat and beef bullion. I served on hoggie rolls and toasted in broiler to melt cheese. Then served au jus. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novella
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I have made this recipe numorous times for my husband. I was a little hesitant the first time I made it due to the spices in it but I love it as well. I make it just how it calls for and love it. This is one recipe I haven't "made my own" by doing anything different due to I like it just how it is. It's great when company comes over and everyone I have fed it too loves it as well. I make some home made bread to go with it and a salad or potatoe and it makes a great meal. Leftovers are good as a sandwich the next day or reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
tasty and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this yesterday for the second time and I just love it for French dip sandwiches. I combine the spices exactly as the recipe calls for.....but depending on the size of the rump roast, I might not use all of this rub. I cook in my crock pot on low for 8 - 10 hours. Only thing I do different is use about 2 cups of unsalted beef stock in place of the 1/2 cup of water. (I like to use this for French dip so I want more liquid). After cooking, I put the crock pot liner in my fridge over night. Next morning, skim off the fat that accumulates, slice the roast as thinly as I can and load it all back into the crock pot on "keep warm." (I add just a touch of salt at this point since I use unsalted beef stock and there is no salt in the spice rub.) Sliced hoagie rolls, sauteed onions and whatever cheese makes you happy (I like Swiss, kids like american, others like provolone). Pile it all on the roll, a few minutes under the broiler to melt the cheese....some aus jus on the side and we are all happy. Not too spicy at all. Simply perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great dish, easy and straight to the point. I decreased the chili powder to 1 tsp and cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp to my taste, but other than that everyone enjoyed it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States