Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Very tasty roast. I reduced the spices by about 1/2 and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This recipe was fantastic! I used half of the spices the original recipe called for and used 1 cup of water with beef boullion. My husband loved the flavor. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This was a little too spicy...next time, I'll cut down on the spices. I did use beef broth instead of water. Served it with Mashed potatoes, corn and vegetables. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I thought this was very good. I don't have alot of time in the morning, so I rubbed it down at night and put it into the crock. In the morning I put it on, adding the water. I cooked it about 9 hours. I also cut the spices in half. Very tender, not too spicy at all. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodylane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
Over spiced on the outside and bland on the inside. I'm always on the hunt for a recipe that will help me figure out what to do with a rump roast to make it taste like more than a cheap hunk of meat. This was not it. The pepper was overwhelming, and even with the long, slow cooking time, it was still rather tough. Overall too unpleasant to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This roast was OUTSTANDING! The best one I've fixed in a long time. It sliced down wonderfully and was so tender! The au jus was SO flavorful! I made a few changes ~ I cut the spices in 1/2 since so many said it was way too spicy. I replaced the water with beef broth and used 1 whole cup instead of 1/2 a cup. I also added a packet of onion soup mix. It was delish! Thanks so much Ardith!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I really liked this recipe. At first I thought the roast would dry out with so little water, but it was one of the best roasts I've ever cooked. It sliced beautifully, and was great with gravy over it for dinner and sandwiches the next day. I'll make this again, but next time I will probably cut the cooking time down to 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Thank-you Ardith for this recipe as my family loved it! It was so easy to prepare. As the roast cooked it filled the house with a pleasant aroma of the meal yet to come. I served it with mash potatoes and a side of crusty bread and we enjoyed! i have prepared this several times and each time we eat it we enjoy it even more. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I made this recipe with a few modifications. I didn't use the mustard powder. I did use sliced onion, dry beefy onion soup mix, 1/2 red cooking wine, 2 bullion cubes, 1/2 the pepper, and twice the water. I also pierced the roast and put garlic cloves in the meat. The meat and au jus were equally good. It does, however, take at least 10 hours to tenderize this roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
My roast turned out kind of dry and despite the roast itself being spicy, the liquids weren't spicy at all. If I try this again, I'll cook it for the shorter time period and use beef broth instead of water to give it more flavoring (should have listened to my mom on that one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States