Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was OK. I had cooked chuck roasts in my crock pot/slow cooker before, but I was looking for something "different" when I attempted this recipe. And I don't feel I really got it. The meat was tender (not surpising to me, and as other reviewers suggested it would be) and quite flavorful. But the vegetables I added (fresh carrots and potatoes after 5 hours, 3 whole stalks celery after 6 hours, and a small can of peas 45 minutes before "done") ALL either shriveled up until no one would have even known they were there (carrots and celery), got both tremendously mushy and/or and unappealingly grainy (potatoes), or simply LOOKED absolutely and totally unappetizing (peas). What hurt the most, though (specifically because I came to this site in search of an "Au Jus" recipe), was that the juice/sauce -- even when warm -- had GOBS and GLOBS of fat so totally evident that I chose not to even attempt to "tweak" it. Instead, I prepared a sandwich dressing we like (mayo/ketchup/mustard/worcester/horseradish, cayenne and sour cream), pulled some tomatoes out of my vegetable bin and some rolls out of my freezer and made sandwiches. And we had a GREAT meal. Except that it wasn't anything CLOSE to the meal I THOUGHT I was going to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Delicious! I used half the amount of each spice as others had recommended. I then added a package of dry onion soup mix and 1 cup of water. I would have used beef broth instead of water as others had recommended but since I was out of broth water had to do. The roast came out perfect....juicy and tender! The liquid in the pot was dark and rich. Couldn't ask for a much better recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is the BEST crockpot beef recipe I have ever tried. I sub seasoned salt for celery salt and cut back the pepper to 1 tsp. Didn't use cayenne and used 1 1/2 cups water mixed with Lipton onion soup mix. After about 6 hours on low, I slice it (or shred) and put back in the au jus for another hour. I serve it on toasted hamburger buns from the bakery and then drizzle some au jus (just a bit) on the top half of bun. Add provolone cheese and broil for a minute. Serve au jus on the side for dipping!! It is ALWAYS a hit! My picky kids can't get enough!!!**UPDATE* I tried it with the Cayenne and it gave it a nice kick, not too hot! I plan on adding it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I followed the other reader's suggestions and added 1 t. black pepper, 2 t. paprika, 1 t. chili powder, 1/2 t. celery salt, 1/2 t. ground cayenne, 1 t. onion powder, 1/2 t. garlic powder, 1/4 t. mustard powder, 1 envelope Dry Onion Soup and I added 2 or more cups of water. I slow cooked this on low for 8 hours and the meat was so tender, it just fell apart. I drained the broth and added more salt and pepper to bring out the flavor of the beef. Then I placed the beef on a hoagie roll, sprinkled it with grated swiss cheese, melted the cheese in the microwave for 40 seconds and we dipped the sandwhiches in the au jus to make a delicious French Dip Sandwhich. My family thought they were fabulous and I loved how easy they were to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I changed only the amount of black pepper to 1 tsp. instead and upped the water to 1 cup and turned the roast a couple of times. I served the au jus on the side. I really loved it. Very tender, just falls apart after you take the ropes off. 5 stars from everyone at the table, definately a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Too much pepper for us. And the meat was tough. I think it was my crock pot. for me it should be cooked with "CHUCK Roast" That's very tender once cooked. My husband did like all the seasonings minus some of the black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was OK... The roast was tender and not dry, but the rub wasn't exactly what I expected to make Au Jus taste like. We wound up not even using the liquid, because most of it had actually burned off in the cooking process. Will probably not make again, but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
i liked it, but the meat dried out a bit. need to turn the roast every so often. tasted better as left overs i kept the juice that it made and heated it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and my family reviews were split. My husband loved it, my son thought it was tastless and I thought it was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States