Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Delicious! I used half the amount of each spice as others had recommended. I then added a package of dry onion soup mix and 1 cup of water. I would have used beef broth instead of water as others had recommended but since I was out of broth water had to do. The roast came out perfect....juicy and tender! The liquid in the pot was dark and rich. Couldn't ask for a much better recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is the BEST crockpot beef recipe I have ever tried. I sub seasoned salt for celery salt and cut back the pepper to 1 tsp. Didn't use cayenne and used 1 1/2 cups water mixed with Lipton onion soup mix. After about 6 hours on low, I slice it (or shred) and put back in the au jus for another hour. I serve it on toasted hamburger buns from the bakery and then drizzle some au jus (just a bit) on the top half of bun. Add provolone cheese and broil for a minute. Serve au jus on the side for dipping!! It is ALWAYS a hit! My picky kids can't get enough!!!**UPDATE* I tried it with the Cayenne and it gave it a nice kick, not too hot! I plan on adding it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I followed the other reader's suggestions and added 1 t. black pepper, 2 t. paprika, 1 t. chili powder, 1/2 t. celery salt, 1/2 t. ground cayenne, 1 t. onion powder, 1/2 t. garlic powder, 1/4 t. mustard powder, 1 envelope Dry Onion Soup and I added 2 or more cups of water. I slow cooked this on low for 8 hours and the meat was so tender, it just fell apart. I drained the broth and added more salt and pepper to bring out the flavor of the beef. Then I placed the beef on a hoagie roll, sprinkled it with grated swiss cheese, melted the cheese in the microwave for 40 seconds and we dipped the sandwhiches in the au jus to make a delicious French Dip Sandwhich. My family thought they were fabulous and I loved how easy they were to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I changed only the amount of black pepper to 1 tsp. instead and upped the water to 1 cup and turned the roast a couple of times. I served the au jus on the side. I really loved it. Very tender, just falls apart after you take the ropes off. 5 stars from everyone at the table, definately a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Too much pepper for us. And the meat was tough. I think it was my crock pot. for me it should be cooked with "CHUCK Roast" That's very tender once cooked. My husband did like all the seasonings minus some of the black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was OK... The roast was tender and not dry, but the rub wasn't exactly what I expected to make Au Jus taste like. We wound up not even using the liquid, because most of it had actually burned off in the cooking process. Will probably not make again, but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
i liked it, but the meat dried out a bit. need to turn the roast every so often. tasted better as left overs i kept the juice that it made and heated it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and my family reviews were split. My husband loved it, my son thought it was tastless and I thought it was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was a little spicy but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States