Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought it turned out pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly. YUm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Fabulous! Very versatile & a nice surprise flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I'm pregnant and haven't been able to stomach any kind of meat whatsoever. I LOVED this roast! I didn't use the cayenne pepper, and mis-read and used only a teaspoon of black pepper. Also, instead of water, I used some homemade chicken stock I made yesterday. This was fantastic. Perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked. My husband and I really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
OK, I will try not to let this get too long but I have a lot to say. Some people are rating this recipe based upon what they cooked which did not match up well with the actual recipe. One person complains of mushy vegetables and vegetables are not even in the recipe. And those who complain it is too spicy - duh - look at the ingredients! I looked at this recipe and instantly knew I would not make it based upon the peppery/spicy ingredients. I certainly would not have made it and then given it a low rating for being too peppery. This recipe did, however, give me a good idea about how to go about cooking what I had in mind. The only similarity between what I cooked and this recipe was I used a rump roast and I used a slow cooker. I used my own seasonings (garlic inserted into meat and a rub of garlic pepper, celery salt and tarragon) used 1 cup beef broth and 1/2 cup red wine and just popped it in the slow cooker for 7 hours with chunks of onion. It turned out very very tender, moist and tasty. Anyone complaining about tough, dry meat either has a problem with their slow cooker not being on a low enough temperature or a problem with the cut of meat they are using. I had no problems with fatty juice at all - did strain it through cheesecloth before serving. Thanks for the recipe - it gave me an idea of what to do even though I didn't follow it this time. I will possibly use the recipe as written if making meat for chili, enchiladas, burritos or tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
839 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was good, it just didn't have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I would have given this a 5 except I agree with other users that the pepper is really overpowering. I added a packet of beef gravy mix and a little more water. I didn't have any problem with the roast coming out dry like other posters did but in my opinion def cut back on the both the peppers. If you like things SUPER SPICY then leave as is except for adding more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
My boyfriend liked it. I think there is too much cayenne pepper in it. I can't add sodium to anything, so I thought all the spices would be a good thing. Too much cayenne and I don't like the smell of the mustard. If I make it again, I will change the amounts of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was very good! Great flavor and very tender! I used salt instead of celery salt and I cooked the roast in a dutch oven instead of a crock pot. After seansoning the roast, I browned it on the stove top. I added red skin potatoes, carrots, couple slices of bacon overtop, and hot water (almost enough to cover the roast). I transferred the pan from the stove top to the oven at 400degrees for approx 1 hour then reduced the temperature to 350 degrees and continued cooking for another 1 and 1/2. The roast was very tender and had a little kick from the pepper, but we like it like that!! Thank you for the recipe, we will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Very tasty! We really enjoyed this. I doubled the water and shredded the meat during the last half hour of cooking so that it could soak up the remaining juices. Excellent served on crusty French rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was OK. I had cooked chuck roasts in my crock pot/slow cooker before, but I was looking for something "different" when I attempted this recipe. And I don't feel I really got it. The meat was tender (not surpising to me, and as other reviewers suggested it would be) and quite flavorful. But the vegetables I added (fresh carrots and potatoes after 5 hours, 3 whole stalks celery after 6 hours, and a small can of peas 45 minutes before "done") ALL either shriveled up until no one would have even known they were there (carrots and celery), got both tremendously mushy and/or and unappealingly grainy (potatoes), or simply LOOKED absolutely and totally unappetizing (peas). What hurt the most, though (specifically because I came to this site in search of an "Au Jus" recipe), was that the juice/sauce -- even when warm -- had GOBS and GLOBS of fat so totally evident that I chose not to even attempt to "tweak" it. Instead, I prepared a sandwich dressing we like (mayo/ketchup/mustard/worcester/horseradish, cayenne and sour cream), pulled some tomatoes out of my vegetable bin and some rolls out of my freezer and made sandwiches. And we had a GREAT meal. Except that it wasn't anything CLOSE to the meal I THOUGHT I was going to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States