Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe as is, except lessened the pepper b/c I was feeding it to my 16 month old daughter. It came out pretty bland (still peppery) and dry. I ended up cutting it and letting it sit in the juice another hour and made an au jus by straining it and then adding some lipton onion mushroom dry soup mix to it to give it flavor. Served w/ mashed potatoes and asparagus. A good base recipe and will make changes like maybe adding an onion and some garlic to the water and using beef stock instead of water. Because it was dry and requires me to make so many changes to make this decent that I had to give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
It wasn't bad. 2 out of 4 people liked it. But since I'm the cook, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was super good. The only change I made was I added some onions at the end, and I didn't have celery salt. The first night we ate it as is, the second we had french dip poboys with the au jus. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisiana bourbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight, but I didn't have time to do it in a crock pot, so I just did it in a covered dish. I added about 2 cups of water along with some carrots, potatos and onions. I cooked it at 450 for about 35-45 minutes, them reduced heat to 350 and cooked for another 1 1/2 - 2 hours. My husband said it was the best roast he had ever had. Very tender and Juicy! We love it spicy, didn't change a thing! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Average results. I left out the chili powder. My roast was dry and too spicy. We ended up tossing the au jus and eating the roast, sliced, smothered in A1, in sandwiches. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Est10865

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
after reading the reviews I cut back the pepper to 1 teaspoon and halved the chilli and cayenne. I also increased the water to a cup. The meat was beautifully tender and this made a great fuss free meal. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Did a half-size recipe. It turned out bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I cut back on the spices by about a third as many commented that this recipe was very spicy. Overall, I thought that this was a solid recipe. I didn't have eight hours to cook it, so I put it in a crockpot on high heat for about 5 hours and the meat still turned out extremely tender. I served with barbeque rather than the au jus and thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I will gladly give this recipe 5 stars. It simply tastes wonderful to everyone I know of. I've made it quite a few times and, most likely, will never stop. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I didn't get exactly what I wanted out of this recipe, but only because I used a smaller roast (so the flavors were more potent) and HOT chili...the kids thought it was a little too spicy but otherwise, everyone else agreed with a bigger roast it would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States