Rumbleberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was really good, did half the sugar, used a large bag of frozen mixed fruit! Would definitely make this again! Maybe half the recipe, it certainly makes a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Easy to make this gluten-free! I've made this twice so far and love it. I use fresh apples (we usually have on hand) and frozen fruit (freezer). The only change is that I substitute the flour for a mix of almond flour and a basic gluten-free flour. I also put in individual ramekins/custard cups. Top with vanilla bean ice cream when still warm from the oven. Really fresh and homey desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Dresch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I used 3 cups blackberries and 3 lrg Gala apples - good taste combo! Also cut the white sugar down to 1 1/2 cups. Still a little too sweet for us but overall a lovely recipe. Will try it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Nicholson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Way too sweet!!!!! And topping not very good. Too bad since it is a nice combination of fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
3 stars for the great fruit combination BUT much too sweet. I cut sugar in half and even then, for our taste buds, that was way sweet enough. Otherwise it is fine but had to rate the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I always get raves when I make this. It's more healthy, not having alot of butter. I also use whatever fruit I have on hand, or from the garden or freezer. It always turns out great. I doubt that the recipe would feed 18 though! More like 6. I like to add walnuts to the crust, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I heard alot of YUM YUMs when my family ate this. I too, didn't use the called for two cups of white sugar. I cut it in half which made it the perfect amount of sweetness for us. Thank you for sharing such a delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZZBERY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
The taste is there - the consistency is not. I used rhubarb, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and nectarine as my fruit. May make again - probably will try a different recipe first though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Delicious using any fruit. I usually use less than 1 1/2c white sugar. It just isn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This tasted great and was devoured by my family in minutes. Gave it 4 out of 5 stars bc we reduced the 2 cups of white sugar to 1 cup of white sugar like the other comments suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States