Rumaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I started my collection of savory appetizers with this very recipe. I had actually forgotten to fix it for several years and see it again here. Thank you! Easy and marvelous flavor! I bake them and the bacon adds the most indescribable flavor. Enough fat without frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellidd
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
While I took the reviewer's suggestion to bake instead of deep fry, I followed all the rest of the recipe and it turned out fantastic! Just like I remembered my mom making when I was a kid. You must have a taste for these but if you do.........YUM! For the less enthusiastic, made some chestnuts wrapped in bacon without the livers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The only changes I made was to nuke the bacon 1 minute first, and then I baked at 400 for 20 minutes, turning them once at 10 minutes. They are great! Thanks, Dot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
YUMMY!!!! I Think that covers everyting!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
My mom made this for every party she had back in the 60's. I am having a 50's-60's style party for my 50th birthday this year and wanted to find that recipe. I should have known it would be on Allrecipes.com! I'm so glad. Now I can serve it at my Birthday Party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My mom came up with an updated version of this traditional dish that is much more of a crowd pleaser. Even the picky eaters love it, and it's constantly requested. You marinate water chestnuts in the terriyaki-type sauce, then wrap in bacon and skewer with toothpicks to hold. Let the little bundles soak in the sauce for one hour, then bake slowly on a foil-covered broiler pan or cookie rack till the bacon is cooked through (about 45 min at 350). Broil carefully for 5 minutes to caramelize, and serve warm. These are the most requested dish she makes, and please many more people than the traditional version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBrown
Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Loved this recipe but used sea scallpts and shrimp instead of chicken livers. I am just brave enough. Loved the flavor and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I make these frequently, but I've never used these seasonings; I usually just marinate in soy sauce, brown sugar and onion. But this was REALLY good. I don't use livers, just water chestnuts. And a tip for lowering the fat: You can also bake them in a 400 degree oven for about 15-20 minutes. They come out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Made this for the big game day at our home. Changed it up a bit, used Turkey liver because it was on sale. No one knew the difference. I also made some with no water chestnuts, just liver and some with no livers just water chestnuts. That way everyone got what they liked. Distinguished them using different colored toothpicks. Made about 75 of them, had only 15 people over, and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Hubby Loved it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States