Rum Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love this recipe. for variation I sometimes use peppermint schnapps instead of rum, or irish cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prepare2meetyourbaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used this recipe as a base, and perhaps it flaws are my own doing. I used 6 squares of Baker's white chocolate (the box only comes with that many, I should've followed my instinct and bought chips to make up the difference so I think this was a big flaw), 10% coffee cream as my heavy cream had gone bad (ugh!), margarine instead of butter (really didn't want to defrost a whole block for that amount), 2 TBsps. of Limoncello, coconut-cream cheese-lemon-lavender cake crumbs instead of chocolate and rainbow sprinkles. I think using a lower amount of chocolate , the margarine and the increased liquor made it too sticky and not able to set enough to easily roll. I tossed it all back in a bowl and added cake crumbs until it began forming a 'dough' (maybe 1/2-3/4 cup more). They were easier to roll, so I quickly did so and coated the sprinkles. Put them on a baking sheet in the freezer and within half an hour were good to go. Tasty treat for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
this recipe is very tasty, and basic enough that you can adjust based on what you like. i tempered chocolate and dipped them, creating a chocolate coating and covered some with toasted nuts, coconut, or sprinkles. the chocolate coating keeps them from being too soft, as others have complained about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made these for xmas treats and they were a huge hit. The only problem I have with this is you can't taste the rum at all so I will add a bit more the next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
5 stars once I figured out how to form them. The only way to roll these is to stick the "dough" in the fridge for about an hour... otherwise it's like a thick goopy batter and impossible to handle. Used rum extract instead of rum, which worked fine, and coated half of mine in coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Great basic recipe to adapt for all crumbs and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Great texture, but I could hardly taste the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good! Thought it was never going to get hard enough to roll into balls, but chilled it for about 15 minutes and was just right. Used coffee flavored tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Oh goodness gracious. How heavenly! I used butter cake crumbs instead of chocolate and I think that was better than chocolate cake would have been. This is chocolaty enough as it is! I would also add either dried coconut or nuts for a little crunch next time. BE SURE to use a high quality chocolate, though I don't believe that bittersweet chocolate is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I had trouble with these. They taste great, but they were just too gooey and never hardened. They are sitting in my freezer because that's the only way I can keep them from melting or losing their shape. I used a double boiler technique to melt the chocolate because I couldn't get the cream/butter to come to a boil fast enough. I plan on dipping these in chocolate again so that they'll keep their shape. I'll let you know if this works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G-ma's Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States