Rum Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This was my first time making truffles and they turned out great! I made them with half and half and coated them with melted chocolate. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
It is my first time make chocolate truffle. I use my own bitter chocolate cake to make the cake crumb. It is very simple to make and the result is very good. All of my friends find the chocolate very soft inside which rich in rum flavor. It melts in mouth. It's a very good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great recipe. The chocolate was taking ages to melt for me, so I sat my bowl in another shallow bowl of hot water till it melted down. Really easy to make and so very very delicious. the alcohol is just a nice background note (and i put more in than the recpie said too) but you definitely need to usehigh quality chocolate to make them. Excellent present idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was simple and great. I used semisweet chocolate (couldn't fine bittersweet) and they were a tiny bit on the sweet side. I couldn't really taste the rum at all, but I loved how soft they were. I'm going to try this again with bittersweet chocolate and a more intense liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was my first time making truffles and I have to say, they tasted like a small bite of heaven. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bittersweet chocolate because I couldn't find it here. I put a bit less than called for cause of the sweetness factor. I think it worked perfectly. I also added a bit more rum than the recipe stated. All in all, definitely 5 stars! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
WOW...these truffles are out of this world!! The addition of chocolate cake crumbs really makes these truffles unique. I made 75 truffles for my graduation party, but since we don't drink, I modified slightly. I made 25 peanut butter truffles (omitted rum and added a few tbs. of creamy peanut butter), 25 espresso truffles (replaced rum with espresso and added instant coffee granules), and 25 raspberry truffles (omitted rum and added raspberry preserves). For coating, I dipped some in melted chocolate and rolled others in cocoa, nuts, and flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love this recipe. for variation I sometimes use peppermint schnapps instead of rum, or irish cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prepare2meetyourbaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good and super easy! I doubled the recipe, but ended up adding 5 1/2 tsp of rum because I read that a previous reader said you couldn't taste the rum. They were perfect! It made about 34 truffles. I rolled half in powdered sugar and the other half in coconut. They turned out great. Do note it's VERY messy! Let it sit in the fridge for at least 30 mins to 1 hour so make them manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
We make these at Christmas time..but we skip the cake crumbs, roll them into balls and dust confectioner's sugar over some of them. Found the recipe in a christmas recipe book--they called them Greek Sokolates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Yum! I added Kahlua instead of the rum-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States