Rum Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
WOW...these truffles are out of this world!! The addition of chocolate cake crumbs really makes these truffles unique. I made 75 truffles for my graduation party, but since we don't drink, I modified slightly. I made 25 peanut butter truffles (omitted rum and added a few tbs. of creamy peanut butter), 25 espresso truffles (replaced rum with espresso and added instant coffee granules), and 25 raspberry truffles (omitted rum and added raspberry preserves). For coating, I dipped some in melted chocolate and rolled others in cocoa, nuts, and flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This was my first time making truffles and they turned out great! I made them with half and half and coated them with melted chocolate. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great recipe. The chocolate was taking ages to melt for me, so I sat my bowl in another shallow bowl of hot water till it melted down. Really easy to make and so very very delicious. the alcohol is just a nice background note (and i put more in than the recpie said too) but you definitely need to usehigh quality chocolate to make them. Excellent present idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
these are really good. Even though real truffles are only made with cream chocolate and a flavoring, whithout cake, they tasted pretty nice. I used orange extract instead of rum. They actually tasted very much like the no alcohol rum balls I am used to having!They are a great way to use up chocolate cake that turned dry. I had made chocolate cupcakes that came out dry and stuck to the pan, so there was no way I could use them as cupcakes. This recipe was perfect for using all the crumbled cupcakes! I am so glad I found this recipe instead of wasting all those not so good cupcakes (even though I used the rest in a yummy trifle ;) ). I did not give them five star only because they did not really taste like truffles, and second, they were a bit too soft for my taste. Still a great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made these for xmas treats and they were a huge hit. The only problem I have with this is you can't taste the rum at all so I will add a bit more the next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was my first time making truffles and I have to say, they tasted like a small bite of heaven. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bittersweet chocolate because I couldn't find it here. I put a bit less than called for cause of the sweetness factor. I think it worked perfectly. I also added a bit more rum than the recipe stated. All in all, definitely 5 stars! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
5 stars once I figured out how to form them. The only way to roll these is to stick the "dough" in the fridge for about an hour... otherwise it's like a thick goopy batter and impossible to handle. Used rum extract instead of rum, which worked fine, and coated half of mine in coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good! Thought it was never going to get hard enough to roll into balls, but chilled it for about 15 minutes and was just right. Used coffee flavored tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was simple and great. I used semisweet chocolate (couldn't fine bittersweet) and they were a tiny bit on the sweet side. I couldn't really taste the rum at all, but I loved how soft they were. I'm going to try this again with bittersweet chocolate and a more intense liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
It is my first time make chocolate truffle. I use my own bitter chocolate cake to make the cake crumb. It is very simple to make and the result is very good. All of my friends find the chocolate very soft inside which rich in rum flavor. It melts in mouth. It's a very good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States