Rum Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Easy to make, fairly tasty, but don't taste like a true truffle. The chocolate needs to be chopped very finely, almost shaved, in order to melt properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Made these and they were wonderful! Easy to make and very flavorful. Will make for Christmas gifts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I tried the recipe with semi-sweet morsels and another version with the squares. We preferred the semi-sweet chocolate morsels. To get the chocolate melted completely, I put a bowl over a pot of hot water. The consistency was perfect without having to chill, and was easy to handle. I used small food containers and just rolled them around to coat. They were set within 15 minutes without chilling. Great base recipe that a person can modify to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humboldt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Really yummy! I used vanilla cake crumbs instead of chocolate, and even that left a really strong chocolate taste (so I imagine it would be quite overpowering with chocolate cake crumbs). I also took out the rum. The only issue I had was needing to add way more cake crumbs than was recommended in order to get the mixture thick enough to form into balls. However this was probably the result of my using gluten-free cake crumbs; Even so, it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Great taste, good texture, however more rum is required if your a fan of the rum in the "rum truffles." I used 1/4 cup, however next time I will up use 1/3, the rum taste does not come out with the amount suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
First time making these or any truffles. These were easy and delicious. I made them as a christmas present, and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
i was looking for an exclusive chocolate rum ball that didn't have nuts in it. this recipe is it. It's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmilford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Yum! I added Kahlua instead of the rum-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
We make these at Christmas time..but we skip the cake crumbs, roll them into balls and dust confectioner's sugar over some of them. Found the recipe in a christmas recipe book--they called them Greek Sokolates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good and super easy! I doubled the recipe, but ended up adding 5 1/2 tsp of rum because I read that a previous reader said you couldn't taste the rum. They were perfect! It made about 34 truffles. I rolled half in powdered sugar and the other half in coconut. They turned out great. Do note it's VERY messy! Let it sit in the fridge for at least 30 mins to 1 hour so make them manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States