Rum Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
WONDERFUL and easy to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Lovely! I made the dough for these one evening and left them wrapped in cling film for over 2-3 days before I was ready to make them. Also I didn't have any rum extract so I used 5 tablespoons of white rum. It goes brilliantly without any icing and just a bit of nutmeg sprinkled over and even with Rum Flavoured Icing (from this site). I've still got more dough in my fridge to bake, I'm saving it up to bake closer to Christmas! Also, I believe, those who complained about the cookies not being like eggnog were commenting on Millie's opinion...she felt they tasted like eggnog to her ... and perhaps some of you'll disagree but the cookies are NOT eggnog cookies they're RUM COOKIES and do complete justice to it! Thanks a million for sharing Millie, these will be on my cookie platter this year and for all the years to come!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Yum these are so good and so soft and moist! I didnt even use the almond flavoring and they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Sugarman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
They didn't taste much like eggnog but they were great and a big hit at our christmas party, even with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This cookie is delicious and I didn't even follow the directions right. I still made them but just made them as drop cookies and everyone loved them. I am going to make them again only follow directions. I love sugar cookies anyway. They truly taste like eggnog. Very good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Friends ask me to make this cookie every year. Very good. Dough can be tough to work with if chilled too long, work it with your fingers until the butter melts a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Wonderful!!! Dough was easy to work with, cookies held their shape very well. Excellent flavor. Frosted with Rum Flavored Frosting & sprinkled with a little nutmeg before frosting set. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These are fantastic! I have been making them for five or six years straight and they are always a favourite. Different from your standard sugar cookie cut out. They really, really taste like eggnog. I usually use rum extract for the cookies and real rum (piced or dark) for the icing (thinning it with rum as required). The only thing I have found is that if you want enough of these cookies to feed your family and give away, a double recipe is ESSENTIAL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These cookies are VERY good. They have a unique taste. I had to make another batch after my husband found them and ate almost all of them. These were his favorite out of 6 different kinds of cookies I made for Christmas. I frost some of them with the rum frosting, but ethier way they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I didn't think they cookies tasted like eggnog but I did like the rum flavoring. It was very unique. I made these for a bachelorette party. They were a big hit with the rum icing. These also go good at Christmas. Several people asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States