Rum Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These are fantastic! I have been making them for five or six years straight and they are always a favourite. Different from your standard sugar cookie cut out. They really, really taste like eggnog. I usually use rum extract for the cookies and real rum (piced or dark) for the icing (thinning it with rum as required). The only thing I have found is that if you want enough of these cookies to feed your family and give away, a double recipe is ESSENTIAL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This cookie is delicious and I didn't even follow the directions right. I still made them but just made them as drop cookies and everyone loved them. I am going to make them again only follow directions. I love sugar cookies anyway. They truly taste like eggnog. Very good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Wonderful!!! Dough was easy to work with, cookies held their shape very well. Excellent flavor. Frosted with Rum Flavored Frosting & sprinkled with a little nutmeg before frosting set. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
WONDERFUL and easy to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These cookies are perfect if you are not looking for a super sweet cookie. They do have a hint of eggnog flavor. They are really good with the rum icing. Make sure to sprinkle some nutmeg on after the icing, does make more of an eggnog flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Lovely! I made the dough for these one evening and left them wrapped in cling film for over 2-3 days before I was ready to make them. Also I didn't have any rum extract so I used 5 tablespoons of white rum. It goes brilliantly without any icing and just a bit of nutmeg sprinkled over and even with Rum Flavoured Icing (from this site). I've still got more dough in my fridge to bake, I'm saving it up to bake closer to Christmas! Also, I believe, those who complained about the cookies not being like eggnog were commenting on Millie's opinion...she felt they tasted like eggnog to her ... and perhaps some of you'll disagree but the cookies are NOT eggnog cookies they're RUM COOKIES and do complete justice to it! Thanks a million for sharing Millie, these will be on my cookie platter this year and for all the years to come!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This recipe tastes nothing like eggnog. The cookies were good, but certainly not eggnog good. The butter needs to be somewhat softened before incorporating it into the ingredients, but your directions do not say that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
They didn't taste much like eggnog but they were great and a big hit at our christmas party, even with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Friends ask me to make this cookie every year. Very good. Dough can be tough to work with if chilled too long, work it with your fingers until the butter melts a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
WOW i thought this was a very interesting recipe. i liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States