Rum Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I wouldn't go so far to say these taste "just like egg nog". They are very good, and are very similar to my great-grandmother's egg nog cookie recipe. I have only done one batch, and have not yet done the icing. Will try the icing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was easy and fun to make. Use lots of flour to roll out the dough, it's pretty soft and sticky. They puffed just a tad during cooking and turned out soft and kind of cakey. I prefer a thin crispy cookie so they weren't my favorite. I iced them with the rum flavored icing and they were pretty good. My husband likes to dunk them in his milk in the morning. Not my favorite cookie, but certainly not bad. Might make these again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dardago, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I like the way these cookies turned out, they were very soft and buttery and not too sweet. But I don't think they taste very much like eggnog, even though I sprinkled fresh nutmeg on them like some people suggested. Next time I might try adding more rum extract to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
These cookies melt in your mouth! I liked the flavor, but I have to agree with others that I really can't say it's eggnog. I didn't even frost them. Maybe I'll make a 2nd batch and use the rum frosting using real rum. Dough was easy to work with but I think 1/8" is too thin. Made mine about 1/4" and none burned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I didn't think they cookies tasted like eggnog but I did like the rum flavoring. It was very unique. I made these for a bachelorette party. They were a big hit with the rum icing. These also go good at Christmas. Several people asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
My family didnt like them these cookies at all. They were way to dry and not much flavor. I will have to keep looking for another eggnog cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These cookies are VERY good. They have a unique taste. I had to make another batch after my husband found them and ate almost all of them. These were his favorite out of 6 different kinds of cookies I made for Christmas. I frost some of them with the rum frosting, but ethier way they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The rum didn't taste as much as expected, I will add more next time. However, everyone I shared them with at work seemed to enjoy! ^^b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by x_andy_x

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portneuf, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
the dough was very sticky and was unable to roll out very well..the cookie cutters stuck. I eventually just spooned the dough out and added chocolate spinkles. My husband said the taste was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These are fantastic! I have been making them for five or six years straight and they are always a favourite. Different from your standard sugar cookie cut out. They really, really taste like eggnog. I usually use rum extract for the cookies and real rum (piced or dark) for the icing (thinning it with rum as required). The only thing I have found is that if you want enough of these cookies to feed your family and give away, a double recipe is ESSENTIAL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States