Rum-Spiked Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Strange way to make a drink, but it was worth it! This is spicy and smooth! The unused rice made a good cereal when heated with some water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Oh jeeze...I dont even know where to start...I made this one night with carne asada for my bf and I...it was a busy day in the kitchen but well worth it. This was my first time making Horchata. We drank this aaaaalllll night and some the next day, haha. I was a little short on time so only let the rice soak (2nd soaking) for 1 hr instead of 2 and let it refridgerate for maybe 30 minutes and just poured it over ice. This one def. stays in my recipe archives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was so much better than I was expecting it to be! I loved it! It was great without the rum, but adding the rum was a nice bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Absolutly Terriffic drink. We just loved it. But I let the rice/cinnom paste soak in the rice water for about 24 hours. Then I used about a quarter of the liquid, to finish the recipe. I put the liquid in the blender along with all of the other ingredients and then let it sit for 2 hours in the fridge. Was very very good keeps well for a day or two when covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
i found this recipe and decided to make it a virgin drink for my 2 1/2 yr old who loves horchata. it's way better than the store bought version. it's very easy to make, just the right amount of everything. this will definitly be a keeper, and next time i have adult time i will add the rum! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
My first time making horchata and it was delicious. I don't know if I've ever had anything woth sweetened condensed milk that I didn't like. By looking at the recipe I thought it might be too sweet so at first I only put in 2/3 of the can, but after sampling, I added the rest. I still don't think it's too sweet, it's just right. Would surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
My husband *loves* horchata so I decided to try this recipe out -- he says it's some of the best he's had. It's a bit timing consuming to make but otherwise quite easy. I followed the directions to a T and it was great. Adding to my list of regulars. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is the best horchata I have ever had! Better than what I had in Mexico! This is an excellent recipe. I made it virgin, and add rum when ready to serve. My fiance likes more rum in his. I remember watching an episode of 'Bizzarre Foods' by Andy Zimmerman; he tried Horchata and immediately spit it out. Well, I think he needs to try this recipe. He will be gulping this down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I used a bit less milk and vanilla and didn't use rum at all. It's a very sweet and really good served cold. I would probably sieve the liquid a couple of times before adding the condensed milk since you do get small bits of rice at the bottom of the jug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I prefer a little another way to make horchata, I want to say about this combination: rum and sweetened condensed milk in horchata - this is wonderful. This recipe makes very good cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States