Rum-Spiked Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Strange way to make a drink, but it was worth it! This is spicy and smooth! The unused rice made a good cereal when heated with some water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was so much better than I was expecting it to be! I loved it! It was great without the rum, but adding the rum was a nice bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Oh jeeze...I dont even know where to start...I made this one night with carne asada for my bf and I...it was a busy day in the kitchen but well worth it. This was my first time making Horchata. We drank this aaaaalllll night and some the next day, haha. I was a little short on time so only let the rice soak (2nd soaking) for 1 hr instead of 2 and let it refridgerate for maybe 30 minutes and just poured it over ice. This one def. stays in my recipe archives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Absolutly Terriffic drink. We just loved it. But I let the rice/cinnom paste soak in the rice water for about 24 hours. Then I used about a quarter of the liquid, to finish the recipe. I put the liquid in the blender along with all of the other ingredients and then let it sit for 2 hours in the fridge. Was very very good keeps well for a day or two when covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I used a bit less milk and vanilla and didn't use rum at all. It's a very sweet and really good served cold. I would probably sieve the liquid a couple of times before adding the condensed milk since you do get small bits of rice at the bottom of the jug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is the best horchata I have ever had! Better than what I had in Mexico! This is an excellent recipe. I made it virgin, and add rum when ready to serve. My fiance likes more rum in his. I remember watching an episode of 'Bizzarre Foods' by Andy Zimmerman; he tried Horchata and immediately spit it out. Well, I think he needs to try this recipe. He will be gulping this down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
i found this recipe and decided to make it a virgin drink for my 2 1/2 yr old who loves horchata. it's way better than the store bought version. it's very easy to make, just the right amount of everything. this will definitly be a keeper, and next time i have adult time i will add the rum! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
My first time making horchata and it was delicious. I don't know if I've ever had anything woth sweetened condensed milk that I didn't like. By looking at the recipe I thought it might be too sweet so at first I only put in 2/3 of the can, but after sampling, I added the rest. I still don't think it's too sweet, it's just right. Would surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I prefer a little another way to make horchata, I want to say about this combination: rum and sweetened condensed milk in horchata - this is wonderful. This recipe makes very good cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
My husband *loves* horchata so I decided to try this recipe out -- he says it's some of the best he's had. It's a bit timing consuming to make but otherwise quite easy. I followed the directions to a T and it was great. Adding to my list of regulars. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States