Rum-Spiked Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I was not previously a fan of Horchata when I had tried it other places because it seemed too sweet. This is a great recipe! My husband, not previously a fan either really liked it. I made it for a Latin themed meeting and it is delicious with or without the rum. I made both versions so that people had a choice. As one of my friends advised me....the colder the better. So, I put as much as I could fit in the chest freezer and the temperature really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This drink is very nice. It has a flavour that is reminiscent of coconut perhaps, reminds you of an Island drink which is nice when it's a snowy cold day outside! We had this without the rhum. We will be using the rice to make a hot rice pudding. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe almost as is except omitted the rum. I did accidentally use almost boiling water, though. It was really, really good! Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
made this for a back yard party-along with tropical fruit kabobs (sprinkled with TAJIN seasoning) worth the time! LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Unbelievable recipe! Have made with and without rum...I probably make this recipe at least once a week for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was delicious, though I haven't had horchata in awhile so I'm not sure how authentic it is. I generally don't like to add alcohol to drinks that are usually non-alcoholic but I do think adding rum really enhances the flavor. I also added a little bit of honey and used short grained rice because it was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmzhao82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
great drink all the moms as my MOPS meeting loved it. I did omit the rum as for the nursing mothers and it was 9 in the morning. great for a family friendly cinco de mayo gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Rum is not optional, it made the drink & smoothed out the cinnamon. Very delicious and going to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob and Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this a virgin drink, and didn't put as much condensed milk as the recipe calls for, because I only had a can of 300ml instead of 400ml. But it still tasted great! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This horchata comes out perfect! I keep the rum separate so people can add as much or as little as they want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States