Rum-Spiked Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Excellent. I followed the directions exactly and it tasted just like horchata should. It is good with or without the rum. I left the rum out and allowed people to add to it as they pleased. Well worth the time. I used the left over rice to make a rice pudding. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This really needed more spices and vanilla. I accidentally ground the rice too fine and then had to wait a day till it settled. This is a tasty recipe but I don't know if I would do it all the time just because the flavor needs so much adjusting. Oh, and I added like 2-3 oz of rum to a glass with ice and then added the horchata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tastes just like the horchatas I used to get in southern California! I couldn't believe how yummy it was and that I can make it at home. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Too milky, not enough cinammon, not enough water. The horchata is always different depending on the Mexican region you're at. If you ever get the chance to go to Calistoga, California some folks from Nayarit have a Mexican restaurant 'Puerto Vallarta' with the BEST tasting horchata I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I hated it when I have to wait so long for a drink!! Well this was worth the wait so glad I made it! Wound'nt change a thing love it!! Thank you for sharing and God bless you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I had good intentions to follow the directions to a tee. That didn't happen. I only had pearl rice; worked fine. After grinding it with an immersion blender, let it sit in the fridge all day. Had no sweetened condensed milk so I used evaporated milk and 3/4 cup vanilla bean sugar (one vanilla bean split into 5# sugar...had been sitting there since Christmas). Long story short; it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Moved to an area where no one knows what horchata is so I have to make my own. I was not disappointed by this recipe. I've had slightly better out but this is equivalent to some of the best horchata I've had so I'm content. Did not use the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Super delish. Not HARD to make, just takes a while. We tried it virgin first, and found it too sweet, and too vanilla-y, but when we added the rum, wow, it was awesome. Just right. Not exactly traditional, but super good. Coulda drank the whole thing. The 1/4 cup rum couldn't even be tasted, but it perked the flavor up and balanced it out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I just discover this drink and was thrilled to find the recipe and yes Rum was the perfect mixer. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieshadover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Can I rate this 6 stars?! It was THAT good!! Taste even better than the one I ordered in the Mexican restaurant! Even my dad loved it and he is VERY picky about his drinks! Took a long time to prepare but well worth the wait! It is good with or without the rum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States