Rum Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
So bland :-( I tasted the batter & it was not good so I added ginger, vanilla, and cinnamon. I also thought it needed extra sugar. Even still they were not good. But I have never had a rum raisin cookie so maybe this is a good recipe & I don't like the cookies in general? Also, there is no baking soda or powder so the texture was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe provides a very dull flavor and a mildly greasy texture. I must agree with other reviewers, the recipe does not make the yield provided. It claims 3 dozen cookies, but in reality makes about 1 and a half dozen. This is a very easy recipe that is great for making with small children, and the subtle flavors are great for kids younger than four years old (since they are often sensitive to strong flavors), although my own principles force me to soak them with artificial rum flavor versus actual rum. All in all it's a good enough cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
First - I used 1/2 cup raisins 1/2 cup craisins and 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips. I let the fruit soak overnight and saved the liquid which was a good idea b/c I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar (that someone else suggested). The reserve liquid was used to break up the brown sugar. I also cooked agreed with the idea of cooking it at 375 for about 10-12 minutes. My personal name for these cookies is rum-a-licious cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
i liked this general idea very much, but i made several changes. i used 2.5 c flour, 1 c. packed brown sugar, 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1.25 c raisins soaked in Goslings for 1 hour, and 1 egg. baked at 375 for 12 minutes. i will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These cookies turned out tasty but the recipe only yielded about 18 small cookies. I also added a little more flour than the original called for. I also soaked the raisins in spiced rum for a whole day. I cooked them at a lower temperature for longer in order to cook them through evenly.Take them out when the tops have really browned, then the middles will be nicely baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
i have not made the cookies yet but i plan to as a surprise to my mother because she loves rum raisin ice cream. so maybe i will add the ice cream to the cookies and make an ice cream sandwitch out of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I added roughly another 2/3 - 3/4 cup flour. I soaked the raisins over night in 50 ml rum and and 25 ml rum extract. I used the left over liquid which wasnt much, as an extra flavoring. I did cook them at 375 and not 425. I made 3oz cookies, and they took about 20ish minutes. Cookies turned out great...my husband likes them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrnTheEmpireDown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Cookies were flat. Soaked the raisins for more than few hours and yet not much flavor. Added some vanilla for flavor. Definitely a soft cookie, at least the way mine turned out. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
4-6 mins seems to be too less. had a hard to adjust the heat. but maybe because i put the wrong portion, i put 2 tablespoons rather than one. it turned out to be very soft, bit like...not fully baked cookie. maybe will give another shut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States