Rum Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Soaked the raisins for two days and this bread turned out wonderful. It was moist and sweet. Would be a great holiday bread. Everyone enjoyed it and there was a lot of complaining when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBELLUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLU3WATER
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I've made this bread many times now using my trusty bread machine, and it's a hit every time. Last night I decided to make another loaf but didn't have heavy cream on hand, so I substituted it with plain yogurt. It's much softer and the flavor is wonderful as usual. I won't be buying any store bought raisin bread for a long long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I added 1 tsp. rum extract and the rum left over from soaking the raisins. I also added some cinnamon. It was very good, but not as great as I thought it would be. We had it toasted at breakfast and it tasted like store bought. The loaf came out small...maybe it was my bread machine. I may try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Wow! I'm not one to rave about bread recipes, but this one is really good -- or, the modified version I made was really good! I switched half of the flour for whole wheat pastry flour and added about 3/4 c chopped walnuts and a pinch of cinnamon. I left out the rum extract, but the flavor from the raisins came through very nicely. The texture reminded me of Russian Easter bread (Kulich), which I have been enjoying for years. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Definitely a keeper! I saved the rum from marinating the raisins and used it in place of part of the water in the bread. Keeps well and stays moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I love this recipe. My breadmaker isn't the best but this recipe came out very nice anyway. Nice texture, nice crust, wonderful flavor. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierce City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I thought it was good, I used more rasins and 2 tablespoons brown sugar and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
The dough was so wet and gluey that the breadmachine couldn't incorporate the raisins at all. I had to stop the breadmaker to incorporate more flour and knead it by hand. This recipe's ratios need some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
This recipe is just awesome! i've made it several times and it always comes out GREAT! thanks for the recipe! by the way, i marinate the raisins for a day or two in the rum and it's AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Very good flavor, however, my raisons all sunk to the bottom. I'm not sure if I added them to the machine at the wrong time or what. I was surprised they didn't taste more like rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States