Rum Raisin Bread Pudding with Warm Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I was told this is the best bread pudding ever!I used cinnamon raisin challah bread and used almost a whole loaf.I poured the rum sauce on the individual servings knowing we couldn't eat the entire casserole. When I reheated the left over the next day I drizzled a little heavy cream to moisten it again. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Overall I enjoyed this recipe. For me personally, I wouldn't have used all the sauce. It was just a tad too sweet. Otherwise it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Marek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
So easy, I had no idea bread pudding was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
We have edited this recipe and added 1/2 cup milk and the vanilla missing from the Vanilla Sauce. (!) We apologize for the omission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
The recipe doesn't say dark rum, but after trying regular clear rum I must say that I think you should definitely use dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
DELISH! I was looking for a recipe to use up a stale sourdough baguette, and added to this some previously store-bought cinnamon rolls we didn't care much for that had been stowed in the freezer, instead of the sliced bread. Used a pear and Zante currants on hand instead of apple and raisins, and as another review suggested, upped the amount of rum to about 1/4 cup (probably could have used more, actually, if you like that rummy flavor). Soy milk instead of regular, and didn't have cornstarch, glaze worked out fine. I subbed turbinado (raw) sugar for the white sugar. There is definitely a LOT of sugar overall in this recipe (think it could be cut back if desired). Overall, a wonderful recipe and oh-so-good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just tried this recipe for my husband who absolutely loves bread pudding. He also loves raisin bread, so how could I go wrong!! My instincts told me to follow some of the adjustments suggested by Glamadana, and she turned out to be correct. I used a whole loaf of bread and a can of evaporated milk to which I added a 1/2 cup of milk to make 2 cups total. And I also used the 3 eggs and 7 TBS butter she suggested. Unfortunately I forgot to double the sauce recipe, but will do so the next time. This could not have been any better. My husband just loves this bread pudding. It is definitely a keeper. The flavor and the texture is perfect, and the rum sauce is delightful and light. I will probably use it on some other things. If I changed anything I might add a tiny bit more rum to the main recipe, but it is not really important. The recipe works as is. Thanks Chicagocook22 for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was a great recipe. Every Christmas we make a Swedish traditional hot drink called Glogg that is made with rum and port wine and spices. It also has raisins and prunes in it, but there is always leftover prunes and raisins. I didn't want to waste them so I started searching for a recipe I could incorporate them into and came across this one. It was delicious. When it came time to sauteing the apples, I tossed the prunes and raisins in and cooked slightly. The final touch was that wonderful rum sauce. OH MY GOODNESS is that ever good. -though my husband happened to be walking by when I was finishing it up and he tasted it and said "It needs more Rum!" as he tipped the bottle and poured about a 1/4 cup in. It was very rummy and very delicious. Such a great recipe. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I used leftover Italian bread and coconut rum in the pudding. I did not taste the rum and did not use the rum sauce, instead topped with whipped cream. The pudding was sweet and delicious. I would make it again with a little less sugar then try it with the rum sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States