Rum Raisin Bread Pudding with Warm Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
DELISH! I was looking for a recipe to use up a stale sourdough baguette, and added to this some previously store-bought cinnamon rolls we didn't care much for that had been stowed in the freezer, instead of the sliced bread. Used a pear and Zante currants on hand instead of apple and raisins, and as another review suggested, upped the amount of rum to about 1/4 cup (probably could have used more, actually, if you like that rummy flavor). Soy milk instead of regular, and didn't have cornstarch, glaze worked out fine. I subbed turbinado (raw) sugar for the white sugar. There is definitely a LOT of sugar overall in this recipe (think it could be cut back if desired). Overall, a wonderful recipe and oh-so-good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just tried this recipe for my husband who absolutely loves bread pudding. He also loves raisin bread, so how could I go wrong!! My instincts told me to follow some of the adjustments suggested by Glamadana, and she turned out to be correct. I used a whole loaf of bread and a can of evaporated milk to which I added a 1/2 cup of milk to make 2 cups total. And I also used the 3 eggs and 7 TBS butter she suggested. Unfortunately I forgot to double the sauce recipe, but will do so the next time. This could not have been any better. My husband just loves this bread pudding. It is definitely a keeper. The flavor and the texture is perfect, and the rum sauce is delightful and light. I will probably use it on some other things. If I changed anything I might add a tiny bit more rum to the main recipe, but it is not really important. The recipe works as is. Thanks Chicagocook22 for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was a great recipe. Every Christmas we make a Swedish traditional hot drink called Glogg that is made with rum and port wine and spices. It also has raisins and prunes in it, but there is always leftover prunes and raisins. I didn't want to waste them so I started searching for a recipe I could incorporate them into and came across this one. It was delicious. When it came time to sauteing the apples, I tossed the prunes and raisins in and cooked slightly. The final touch was that wonderful rum sauce. OH MY GOODNESS is that ever good. -though my husband happened to be walking by when I was finishing it up and he tasted it and said "It needs more Rum!" as he tipped the bottle and poured about a 1/4 cup in. It was very rummy and very delicious. Such a great recipe. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I used leftover Italian bread and coconut rum in the pudding. I did not taste the rum and did not use the rum sauce, instead topped with whipped cream. The pudding was sweet and delicious. I would make it again with a little less sugar then try it with the rum sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I omitted the sauce and used Rum flavoring and it was SO moist and delicious. A hit for the whole family. Will make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I baked the pudding in three 6" individual casseroles that were about 1-1/2" high. Really like the bread pudding, but the rum sauce tasted too much like cornstarch. I added about a 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the sauce, and that helped. We enjoyed this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The rum sauce recipe is AMAZING!!! I used another bread pudding recipe with it, but I think I will try this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great! I used French bread instead of raisin bread and it a thinly sliced pear instead of an apple. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was delicious! I made some adjustments however. I used a whole loaf of Pepperidge Farms cinnamon raisin bread. I used the whole can of evaporated milk and 1/2 cup 1% milk=2cups. I added and extra egg and extra butter - 7 TBS. I doubled the sauce recipe, OMG it is soooo good. Side note - I used a Gala apple. My guests told me it was the best they'd ever had-I thought so too! It will be a holiday tradition for our family from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
First, AR needs to change the title of this recipe because the submitter gives a you a rum sauce not a vanilla sauce to go with this bread pudding and I think I would have much preferred a vanilla sauce with this recipe. The bread pudding itself however is very good. I didn't have cinnamon raisin bread, so I used a whole cup of raisins and upped the amount of cinnamon to a whole Tbsp. I also added a bit of nutmeg. I doubled the amount of rum and used 2 apples that I thinly sliced and didn't bother cooking because they cook inside the bread pudding. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used 1 & 1/4 cup of half and half and 3 eggs. Make sure you use stale bread so as to not get things overly soggy (I used stale hoagie rolls). I used a 9 inch sprinform pan and put a baking sheet underneath during baking. The bread pudding is delicious and has a really nice rum flavor. The rum sauce however is not that good and really not necessary. I would use a vanilla sauce over top of this or just a a bit of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States