Rum-Pineapple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great recipe. I didn't want a 'soak cake' I wanted a glaze, so I altered the topping - instead of rum, I used a 6 oz can of pineapple juice and approximately 1/4 cup of confectioner sugar. I let the mixture boil until it thickened. I also added about 1/2 cup of frozen pineapple (thawed and mashed). ironically,my co-workers thought the topping tasted like rum. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Easy, delicious. I made two loaves, rather than one large cake. I made half of the glaze recipe and only topped one. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Couldn't believe the excess amount of rum in this cake. Thank goodness I didn't pour all of it on (really hated to waste that good rum though) Really made a rich cake, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
One reviewer said this is not (technically) a pound cake, well maybe that's true. But it looks, feels, tastes, smells and goes down like pound cake! No it doesn't have a glaze either--it's a soaking syrup, but it's a wonderful soaking syrup so who cares what it's called? To get the moisture where it should be in the cake, after you remove the cake from the oven let it cool in pan about 20 minutes. Gently remove the cake and set aside. Pour the sugar/rum/butter syrup into the bottom of the Bundt pan and then place the cake back into the pan. Let it sit 20-30 minutes, and then turn the Bundt pan, cake still in it, upside down onto a plate to unmold. BTW, I skipped the coconut and instead added a 20-oz can of crushed, DRAINED pineapple to my syrup so that the cake turned out like pineapple upside down cake. It was a huge hit--moist, poundcake-like, and not too sweet or rummy (I used 1/2 c rum). I will use this basic recipe (without syrup) from now on for a quick and easy, start-from-a-box, tastes-like-homemade pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used yellow cake mix,added about a cup of pineapple tidbits and added about a half cup of rum to the cake mix. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
The only thing I would stress is to make multiple holes with a wooden skewer so that the rum is evenly distributed. The more rum taste in every bite the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitti723

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Johnston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
You can't call a cake a pound cake just because you bake it in a bundt pan. This was a very delicious cake, but it lacked the density of a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Great recipe. Made this for one of manager's birthday. everyone in the office loved it and it was so easy to make. I did not change any of the directions. However I did have to keep it in the oven for longer then the time given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Morgan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Apology...did not use the glaze so this review is on the cake. Very nice bundt cake. The crown after baking is amazing therefore, next time I make this it will be in a tube pan. I will also use 1/2 cup of additional butter instead of 1/2 cup of oil. Cake was kind of fluffy, not dense like a pound cake. Nice flavor! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Wonderful cake, I let the glaze cook a little longer and it turned out real glazy, I don't like wet cake. I also used white cake mix instead of yellow. But over all this a very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States