Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Super impressed with this recipe. I usually do mine with bourbon and run my wafers through a food processor to make for a smoother mixture and to avoid the gritty texture someone else mentioned. I also heat the bourbon and then add the sugar so it will dissolve. Other than my few adjustments, this is a very good recipe, makes for amazing bourbon balls. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were good, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Prewitt Scurlock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is a great tasting and easy recipe. I didn't roll them in ground nuts, and I rolled the balls in powdered sugar more than just once. I allowed them to mature in the refrigerator in a plastic zipper bag, left partially open so it could breathe. After a couple of days the sugar was almost completely absorbed into the candy, so I rolled them in sugar a second time, and when it had almost absorbed again, I rolled them a third time. The only other thing I did differently was that I used a good brandy instead of bourbon or rum (even though I had both). I served them to some friends we invited over for dinner right before Christmas. I am now sharing the recipe with those friends because the wife has overheard her husband several times telling his friends how good those brandy balls were. Quite a complement! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are fabulous! So easy! I followed the directions exactly. Used a 4-cup Corningware measuring cup to melt the chocolate in the microwave. Ground one box of Nilla wafers in the food processor - the finer the grind, the finer the consistency of the finished rum ball product. The other thing I found helpful was to use a fork to mix the ingredients in the order listed, then to blend the mixture with the crumbs. I strongly doubt these will make it to the New Year, but I'll try hiding them. I used Captain Morgan's spiced rum (don't judge, it's what I had on hand) and it's darn tasty with chocolate - who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by disorderlyCNA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Well, the flavour was excellent, but I foud the mixture a bit crumbly. Not sure why this was so. I am an experienced cook, and followed the recipe exactly. I added more rum (about 1/4 cup) and another cup of melted chocolate chips. I also found that the mixture was stiff enough that I did not have to chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I've been making these for 2 years now. Everyone loves them and some people give me money to buy the ingredients to make them. I've made balls with Captain Morgan Spiced rum and made a batch today with Bacardi 151 Cuban rum. Last Christmas I used Peach Ciroc instead of rum and made vodka balls. Sometimes I dust with powdered sugar or coat with sprinkles. Great recipe and I always double it because friends eat them up! They don't last long. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Great recipe- tried Amaretto instead of Bourbon. They came out very good- exactly as you would imagine a traditional holiday ball would taste! I even used gluten free cookies so I could eat them (I have celiac). I just put it in the food processor to grind them up pretty fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I make these every year since I tried the recipe! We try to wait 7 days, but they are usually gone by day 4 or 5. Oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made to specs in recipe- very good! Couple of recommendations 1.) Use the best quality rum you can afford (it pairs nicely with chocolate and gives vavoom) 2.) Let them sit & simmer at least a few days before serving (perfection takes time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States