Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made to specs in recipe- very good! Couple of recommendations 1.) Use the best quality rum you can afford (it pairs nicely with chocolate and gives vavoom) 2.) Let them sit & simmer at least a few days before serving (perfection takes time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
My sister wanted KY Bourbon balls on her visit to see us in KY. I made this recipe and another. I'm not a fan of Bourbon, thus a 4 star rating. It's a toss up which recipe is better (the other uses Oreo Cookies and powder sugar), BUT of the Bourbon balls that I've had in the past, both recipes are better than others we've tried. Instead of Rum, I used Rum Chata in one, rolled in sugar. The other, I used Town Branch Bourbon, rolled in finely ground pecans. I used 1/2 c of pecans in each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
very strong rum flavor, people wouldn't eat any more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Albrecht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I tried to get this to work but the chocolate seized on me twice :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great flavor! My guests ate them up quickly. Next time I need to double the batch. My only suggestion is watch how long the dough chills in the refrigerator. I left it for about four hours but it become rock solid and difficult to work with. The sprinkles I tried using wouldn't adhere to the surface. My recommendation is chill for only a short time. The confectioners sugar worked well even on the firm surface and tasted the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
One word-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by minnie1989
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were delicious! I added some chopped raisins in place of the walnuts and they really took them to the next level. I found them to be quite boozy - which we were happy about! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnie1989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Wow, these are great! I used Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips and Tortuga coconut rum, from the Bahamas, and black walnuts. i coated them in a mixture of confectioners sugar and cocoa powder. They were a bit gritty but wow they taste great! I just wish that I made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I followed this recipe except I made bourbon balls & didn't use walnuts due to an allergy. It definitely makes 4 dozen. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I subbed the corn syrup with honey, and rolled the balls in holiday sprinkles...it was a big hit at the cookie exchange I attended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States