Rum Mocha Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jewlster1259
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very tasty! My customers loved them! I did take the advice of a previous poster and add a couple heaping spoons of sour cream and two T of chocolate pudding mix. I made cupcakes out of this and they turned out well. I wonder if the dry remarks could be due to over baking. They only needed 20 min in the oven, rather than the 35, it calls for. The frosting was far too fudgy and thick, so I added about 1/4 more butter and a splash of milk. It thinned it into a buttercream. Piped on great. I topped with half of a Ferrero Rocher ball, instead of cherries and cream. Thanks for the recipe! Yields about 2 doz cupcakes. Frosting makes enough for about 1 1/2 doz. To make your own cake flour: for each one cup of all purpose, subtract 2 T and replace with corn starch. Sift at least 5 times. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
After reading all the "too dry" comments, I added 2 TBSP of chocolate pudding mix to the dry ingredients and two heaping spoonfuls of sour cream. It was PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach
Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
family and friends loved the cake. i think the cake is a little dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I made cupcakes and though they tasted good, they were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made mini cup cakes with the batter...baked it for 15 minutes at 350 I replaced butter with 1/3 cup of oil. Added a total of 1/4 cup rum. Substituted only 1/2 cup water instead of 3/4 cup Replace 1/2 cup cocoa with 1/3 cup cocoa Reduced flour by 1/4 th cup Increased sugar by 1/4 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Taste was great! very mocha... The cake came out a little dry but when I divided each round cake into half, doubled the icing recipe, and layered into four layers, the extra icing made up for the little bit of dryness. I also added a small amount of ganche to top and let drip down for extra chocolate flavor. Cake was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Rich and delicious! Made it for my friend's birthday with a rum-flavoured whipped icing. Huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little-baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatMonnett
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a good recipe, and pretty easy to make. I did add a teaspoon of vinegar to the batter and I think that helped to make it a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I found this cake a little on the dry side, which was disappointing after all the work it took to make it. I did use fresh brewed coffee instead of instant, since I had a pot going...it saved some hassle. I added a little rum to the cherries for the topping, which jazzed them up and emphasized the rum flavor in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I made this today and it received thumbs up. It's delicious but very rich, so I skipped the whipped cream and cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ilford, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States