Rum Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I'm not sure my review counts for much since I was forced to make some modifications to the recipe. We have a nut allergy in the family so I tried to think of a substitute and decided on cherries. I drained and finely chopped a 6 oz jar of marischino cherries. I then discovered I only had 1/4 cup of rum, so I added 1/4 cup of the maraschino juice to bring the liquid up to 1/2 cup. My rum balls came out quite nice, someone even asked me for the recipe. 1/2 cup of rum would make them very strong because they are pretty potent with only 1/4 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
PERFECT!!!....this recipe is a keeper. Very easy, followed recipe exactly and used coconut rum. I crushed wafers in food processer and peacans also then put mixture in freezer for about 45 min before rolling into balls then roled in finely chopped peacans. Very easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This has been a staple in my home for the last 3 years. So much so, in fact that I now have to triple or even quadruple the recipe. I use these a gifts for my accounts (I'm in the liquor industry so these are just perfect!) and they are a hit! Not only that, but my husband loves them as well so I have to make extras and hide them at my neighbour's house where hubby can't find them. To switch it up a little, I roll these in coconut, icing sugar, cocoa, or those holiday sprinkles. I put 4-8 inside a plastic baggie, tie it with some ribbon and voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
the best...i made them exact to recipe except nuts...husband can't eat nuts...they turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
this turned out nicely, it's not too much work. i used brandy instead, and i mixed the corn syrup and brandy into the chocolate while still over the heat... it's way easier to mix that way. i didn't have wafers, so i used a combination of kit kats, soda crackers, and digestive cookies! i'd make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I absolutely love these rum balls. However I wasn't completely prepared to make them, because of which I had no vanilla wafers at home!So, I used about 12 oreos crushed instead. And since I didn't have any corn syrup at home, I used honey instead, but there was no significant flavour difference. I used 1/2 cup of white rum (since I didn't have any dark rum at home).But for those who like their rum balls strong but not really really strong I'd suggest using ONLY 1/4 cup of rum. Once the entire mixture was ready, I poured it into a bowl and left it in the freezer for about 3 hours to set and harden well. I rolled them in confectioners sugar, and some in crushed mixed nuts. I liked the crushed mixed nuts topping better since I hadn't added any nuts into the cookie balls while making them! I guess I made a lot of changes, but I couldn't help it, I had to make them and didn't have the right supplies! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I'd hate to get pulled over in my car after eating 4 or 5 of these! Whew! Yummy and Rummy! Loved them. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
If you like Rumballs this is it WOW!the longer they sat the stronger they got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CurlyKel
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made this as written except used coconut flavored rum and rolled them in crushed almonds at the end for extra crunch. Perhaps better with only 1/4 cup of rum? Also, be sure to grind up your vanilla wafers and nuts in a food processor because this really affects the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent, also tried with canadian whiskey rolled in powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States