Rum Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This is the best rum cake ever!! I did reduce the amount of sugar in the cake batter by 1/2 cup as I don't like a cake that is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I liked this cake a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Delicious. I didn't have buttermilk but regular milk worked great. A special cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Excellent, moist cake with a super rum flavor that holds together well for slicing and passing around to a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHNH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I have made this recipe for about 7 years. I like it's versatility. I have used Jack Daniels, Amaretto, Captain Morgans. I susbtitute 2% milk sometime for the buttermilk. Add pecans and Marchino cherries to the bottom of the pan to make it look festive. I have also used Brown sugar, butter and pecans to make a crumble. No matter what I use it's always a hit. To me it's better the longer it ages. I make it a day or two before serving. I have sent it down range to many friends that have deployed and it is always a hit down range. It travels so well and stays fresh! For them I don't use any alcohol but use about 2t of extract for the glaze(almond, rum, coconut and rum). A definite on my holiday dessert table EVERY year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Simply divine. I get requests for this cake often now, and am making it this year for Christmas, instead of fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This is delicious! I was out of rum extract, so I substituted dark rum, and it worked great. I added pecan halves to the pan before pouring in the batter, which went well with butter and rum flavors. It disappeared quickly, and I had several requests for the recipe. I will definitely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Excellent!!! The only change I was made was I added a simple powdered sugar glaze made with rum as the liquid rather than milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
great rum cake everyone that has tried it loves this cake tip if you don,t like rum than you won,t like this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I like subsituting extra rum for the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States