Rum Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Excellent!!! The only change I was made was I added a simple powdered sugar glaze made with rum as the liquid rather than milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Simply divine. I get requests for this cake often now, and am making it this year for Christmas, instead of fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
great rum cake everyone that has tried it loves this cake tip if you don,t like rum than you won,t like this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I liked this cake a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
I must admit the cake didn't impress me very much; however, the rum glaze is very versatile for using with various cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This is the best rum cake ever!! I did reduce the amount of sugar in the cake batter by 1/2 cup as I don't like a cake that is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Delicious. I didn't have buttermilk but regular milk worked great. A special cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
The cake was very tender, soft and tasty. I used Bacardi Select Rum. Got many compliments on this cake. My only complaint - it didn't turn out as juicy and the ones they serve at the restaurants. But that didn't compromise the taste - I really liked it. Would definitely make it again and would recommend to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
my only complaint about this recipe is that even if i pour the rum butter sauce over the cake, and refrigerate to cool, the sauce doen't seem to seep its juices inside it. making the cake dry in the middle once you slice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YLUCIANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Excellent, moist cake with a super rum flavor that holds together well for slicing and passing around to a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHNH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States