Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I really liked how good this cake came out. I made it last Thanksgiving and plan on making it this holiday. The only change I will make is to buy a better quality dark rum. I purchased a Trader Joe's dark rum which wasn't bad but it wasn't as sweet tasting as I think some other brands are. Very eash to make and looks gorgeous sitting in your cake display (I almost did't want to let people cut it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I have made this recipe three times and each time the cake has collapsed. I have no idea why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Quick Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Was a hit for Christmas. It was moist and delicious. This will be a tradition for every Christmas holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great cake, this was a real treat for my daughter and I, I had some trouble with the glaze; the next time we try this cake we are gonna add hazelnuts.... GREAT CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was my first attempt at a rum cake so I followed the recipe to a "T"....DELICIOUS.....The glaze makes the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this rum cake after someone had brought one to work and I fell in love with it. She used Capt. Morgan's spiced run which I did also. Instead of taking the cake out of the bundt pan, while warm; I poured the glaze on the cake from the bottom and it soaked it up and was wonderfully moist and great when eaten warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
yummy! I doubled the sauce and poured half of it over a finely pricked (I used a bamboo skewer) cake while it was still hot in the pan. I let it sit for an hour before inverting. Then poked the other side, and brushed some more of the glaze over it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My Husband loves this cake it is by far one of his favorites- I did add a few changes I used ducan hines butter cake mix WITHOUT the pudding added I used FRENCH vanilla instant pudding mix I added 1/2 cup of milk. I used 3/4 cup Bacardi Gold rum in the batter and for the glaze i used Malibu Red. I too poured half of the glazed into the bottom of the pan and reinsert the cake for about 2 hours, I also poked holes using a fork and poured the rest of the glaze over the cake. PERFECTO! I read other reviews that claim that you call tell this is a box cake thats not true well not in my case I believe the half cup milk may have made all the difference and no I did not subb the milk for water I still used 1/2 cup of water I just by mistake added the 1/2 cup of 2% milk and boy I am glad I did...also for the glaze I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar..I hope you guys enjoy this cake as much as me and my hubby did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
INCREDIBLE!!!! I followd this recipe exactly and it was so yummy. I found that this is not really kid friendly. Almost got a little tipsy eating two pieces of this cake. Just be careful of what kind of rum you use and the proof. I used only an 80 proof and it had my 250 pound father feeling a little funny too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States