Rum Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I have made this recipe three times and each time the cake has collapsed. I have no idea why. All ingredients were at room temperature, I did not overbeat and followed the recipe exactly. While the cake tastes very good, the fact that it is half size after collapsing is very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Quick Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Was a hit for Christmas. It was moist and delicious. This will be a tradition for every Christmas holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great cake, this was a real treat for my daughter and I, I had some trouble with the glaze; the next time we try this cake we are gonna add hazelnuts.... GREAT CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was my first attempt at a rum cake so I followed the recipe to a "T"....DELICIOUS.....The glaze makes the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this rum cake after someone had brought one to work and I fell in love with it. She used Capt. Morgan's spiced run which I did also. Instead of taking the cake out of the bundt pan, while warm; I poured the glaze on the cake from the bottom and it soaked it up and was wonderfully moist and great when eaten warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
yummy! I doubled the sauce and poured half of it over a finely pricked (I used a bamboo skewer) cake while it was still hot in the pan. I let it sit for an hour before inverting. Then poked the other side, and brushed some more of the glaze over it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My Husband loves this cake it is by far one of his favorites- I did add a few changes I used ducan hines butter cake mix WITHOUT the pudding added I used FRENCH vanilla instant pudding mix I added 1/2 cup of milk. I used 3/4 cup Bacardi Gold rum in the batter and for the glaze i used Malibu Red. I too poured half of the glazed into the bottom of the pan and reinsert the cake for about 2 hours, I also poked holes using a fork and poured the rest of the glaze over the cake. PERFECTO! I read other reviews that claim that you call tell this is a box cake thats not true well not in my case I believe the half cup milk may have made all the difference and no I did not subb the milk for water I still used 1/2 cup of water I just by mistake added the 1/2 cup of 2% milk and boy I am glad I did...also for the glaze I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar..I hope you guys enjoy this cake as much as me and my hubby did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
INCREDIBLE!!!! I followd this recipe exactly and it was so yummy. I found that this is not really kid friendly. Almost got a little tipsy eating two pieces of this cake. Just be careful of what kind of rum you use and the proof. I used only an 80 proof and it had my 250 pound father feeling a little funny too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I made this cake exactly as instructed except I used butter instead of oil and used half white and brown sugar and it came out perfect and tasted great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States