Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These were very fun to make. Although my husband absolutely loved them I think there was a teeny bit too much rum. Next time I make them I will probably half the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
There are so many different rum ball recipes out there, I wasn't sure which to try! I opted for this recipe because it didn't include nuts, and uses chocolate instead of just cocoa powder. I think these rum balls are more fudge-like and less gritty than others I've tried. A couple of things that might be helpful to others who try the recipe: My box of Nilla wafers was only 11oz, so I ended up adding two graham crackers (the equivalent of 1oz) to give me the full 12oz of cookie crumbs. I don't know if that was necessary, but if you get a couple extra rum balls out of it, it doesn't hurt, right? Chocolate can be easy to scorch, so I would recommend melting your chocolate in a double-boiler. An easy way to fake a double boiler is to put a couple of inches of water into a sauce pan and then set a similarly sized Pyrex bowl on top of it, so that your bowl is resting on the top rim of your pan. The boiling water in the pot gently heats your bowl, allowing your chocolate to melt without risk of burning it. For booze, I used a combination of Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum and Tuaca. As a personal preference, I used honey instead of corn syrup and added a couple of dashes of cinnamon. I think they added complexity to the flavor. I rolled the rum balls in granulated sugar because I like the look of it better, and it's less messy to eat. P.S. I highly recommend wearing food-safe gloves when rolling out your rum balls. No one wants to eat your skin cells in their dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Something is off in this recipe. It just doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Easy, excellent rum balls. I substituted bittersweet chocolate for semisweet. Also added tablespoon of sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Best recipe ive tasted. And very easy to do in a hurry. I did find that refrigerating between doing up and rolling Into balls was not necessary. At the party i had to make another double batch while everyone watched and waited for more. Good stuff, Maynard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was my first time making rum balls and I must say that this recipe was great! Not too sure why there aren't more reviews...I am definitely making these again for my guests over Christmas. Give 'em a try, you won't be disappointed! Hope this helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Made these for a recent party I attended and they were an instant hit!!! Will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tita819

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I felt like it had way too much rum!!!! I think if you use half that amount they would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
this was something new for me to make for the holidays but I remembered how good they were. While in Tech school in the Air Force (years ago) a buddy's grandmother had sent them to him and I was lucky enough to be able to try them, all remember was Wow there's some rum in those! After trying a few other recipes without coming close to what I remembered I saw this recipe and thought, Hmmm this one has 3 times the rum of the other recipes. I didn't have Meyers dark rum but I had Captain Morgan and tried it. These are what I remember having years earlier, very good. I received compliments from everyone that had them. I do think next year I use just a little more rum and make it Sailor Jerry since it's 92 proof to boost them up a little bit. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I just finished decorating these and they are fabulous! I decorated them all different ways following a video I saw at joyofbaking after googling rum balls. I liked the ease of this recipe better than that one. So I decorated some with powdered sugar and some with unsweetened cocoa powder (both best sifted) And then I melted some chocolate chips in the microwave and (after the rum balls had been in the fridge for a while) rolled some in that. Of the chocolate ones I (immediately!) sprinkled crushed nuts on some of them. And the others, after putting back in the fridge to set, I melted white chocolate and did a small design on the top. The presentation is amazing even with my lack of decorating talent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States