Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Just found this recipe. Made it right away. Soooo easy. Made a couple substitutions. Graham crumbs instead of vanilla wafers. Dark corn syrup instead of light. (only because those were what I had on hand). I HAD to try one right away. It already is delish!!! My question is... how am I supposed to wait a whole week before having more???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Watch out, these are addicting! My grandma used to make these when we were little and my family was thrilled to get them in their Christmas care packages. They were easy and tasty and a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. I tweaked it a bit and used: 1 box Nabisco Vanilla Wafers. No generic works as well. 3 Tb Cocoa, 1 Cup Confect Sugar, 3 TB Light Corn Syrup and 1/3 cup Rum and 1 Tb Water. I found this consistency great and moist to enough that I used a small ice cream scoop to shape. Then I lined a cookie sheet with parchment paper andd shifted Confect Sugar to cover the sheet. Make my balls with the ice cream scoop and was able to fit one receipe per cookie sheet. Then I shifted Confect Sugar over top to desired coverage. It went so fast and tasted great. Never had to touch the dough. Then I put in frig for a few minutes and packed tins. Age one week. The longer they sit, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome recipe! Super easy, no bake, just a few basic ingredients. Use a food processor for fast prep. I followed other reviewers advice and used all rum, no water, no extract and it was perfect. The first batch I took to the office for our annual cookie exchange and they were a hit. I just made a second batch for us at home and substituted 2 really ripe bananas for the corn syrup. Deeeelicious!! I'm going to try the coconut rum next time. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These turned out very well, but were toxically sweet. Instinctually, I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/4 of what the recipe called for, and they were still too sweet for my liking. Given that you'd only eat 1 or 2 at a holiday gathering, they are ideal for a quick no-bake dessert to share with MANY others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made these last night for a function this coming Friday. They smell great, but I won't know what they taste like until Friday. I used rum extract as stated (only because I had some on hand). Next time I may try the actual rum. I followed the recipe. Beware, it's a little messy to put into balls, even using a melon ball scooper. The only thing I did differently was to mix all of my ingredients in a food processor. I measured all of my ingredients and put them directly in the food processor. So far, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
A favorite at Christmastime. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Sorry, but in my opinion (and my family's) these were not all that great. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I think real rum or bourbon would have made the difference, so I think I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
they are better as they sit out as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Excellant!!! Just tried these to add additional cookies to my gifts. very good. I also did what another person recommended. Left out the water and used rum. Just the taste I wanted. No rum flavoring here. The real thing. Back to the store for more ingredients to make more. Happy holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k_dog

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States