Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Excellant!!! Just tried these to add additional cookies to my gifts. very good. I also did what another person recommended. Left out the water and used rum. Just the taste I wanted. No rum flavoring here. The real thing. Back to the store for more ingredients to make more. Happy holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k_dog
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
A family favourite! Finding or making the right vanilla wafers/crumbs is a pain, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is a WONDERFUL recipe!!! Everyone who tried it loved it! Although I was not allowed to eat them myself, since they contain alcohol, I still enjoyed making them. I made them for my mothers birthday. I didn't make any major changes, except using my favorite nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtyCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
When I saw this recipe I thought - maybe this is the way Mom use to make her rum balls. Unfortunately, it was not. These were okay, but I would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I LOVE rum balls during the holidays, but a. I think real rum should be used, and b. my mom used graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers, and I LOVED them made that way. Just some ideas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the finished product was a chalky taste and texture. Sorry but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Easy to make and get better with age! Double the recipe though - one batch is not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
AWESOME!! To mix it up, try malibu rum. Gives it a little coconut taste. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These are so good! I thought they tasted better in week 2 than week 1. A new tradition for my holiday treats. I made the balls about a 1/2 tablespoon size and got 67 balls. UPDATE: Instead of rum extract, I used 151 rum, about 5 tablespoons and added 8 extra tablespoons extra confectioners sugar. According to an Internet search for subs I found this: "For 1 teaspoon of rum extract, use 3 tablespoons of rum or season to taste. For a more specific general rule, the ratio of light rum will be closer to 4 tablespoons while dark rum requires less, closer to 2 tablespoons."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States