Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
WOW! This is a recipe that can be tailored to everyone. Following others advise, I increased potatoes by 2+ cups, decreased sugar to 1/2c. I tried different levels of rum, and ended up with 1/3 cup per recipe. I like the rum, and with extra potatoes it wasn't too strong for me. Biggest change was I didn't use any butter at all. Eliminating butter in sweet potatoes and in topping as previously suggested saved 1300+ calories, and it was GREAT! Thank you for such a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
DO NOT REDUCE THE RUM like the other reviews said!! I just made this and it was a perfect fit at Thanksgiving. Everyone raved about it. NEEDS the 1/3 cup of rum. Also, you HAVE to make sure you put the melted butter in the topping- someone wrote to delete it, but it has flour in it, so who wants to eat dried flour? Perfect the way it is- don't mess with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Made this 3 years in a row for Thanksgiving, and will be making it for years to come! It is ridiculously good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. It has become a family holiday tradition. I have made it with our without the rum. My husband who isn’t a huge sweet potato fan LOVES this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I started making this recipe in 2002. It quickly became a family favorite for the large holiday family dinners. I am not asked if I will make it anymore, it's expected that I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good. I lowered the amount of rum also. I managed to get people who were adamantly opposed to eating sweet potatoes to enjoy them. Couldn't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Garcia Coutee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Wow....either I missed the boat or the recipe was wrong. I used the converter to make this dish for 25 people (because the 30 person conversion was not working properly). When I made it, it seemed awfully soupy, but I figured it would set in oven. Well, I ended up to what amounted to applesauce consistency. It was incredibly too sweet and too much rum. Due to all te great reviews I am sure it was the conversion and not the recipe itself. Just a warning for anybody making larger quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I am typically not a sweet potato eater, and I loved this cassarole! It was so good and very flavorful--the rum gave it a great taste! My only critique is that it was a little sweet and next time I make it I will reduce the sugar. I will definitely be making this again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Tried this today was great changed the sugar like everyone said and the rum turned out nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smiday
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Outstanding!!! I made this for an office Thanksgiving party and it was a BIG hit! I used canned yams (drained and whipped in the food processor) and artificial rum flavoring because I couldn't find real rum. The recipe is very easy, too. Try this one! You will NOT regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States