Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Outstanding dish, I did have to cook mine about 50 minutes total as I had a very deep baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatmorechicken

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was 100... no, 110% delicious! WOW! I made this to go with X-mas dinner, and will make it a new standard thing. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John in Tampa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great holiday recipe. I chopped the pecans finely in a food processor and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of cinnamin to the topping for some extra holiday aroma and flavor. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I brought this to Thanksgiving dinner and got rave reviews from my nephew who is a picky eater. I made it without the rum substituted a cup of brown sugar for the white sugar. I also baked the sweet potatoes in the microwave for about 12 minutes. I have been ordered to bring this to Christmas dinner - this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Yummy Yum Yum...instead of rum I added amaretto and this gave the sweet potato a wonderful flavor. I also added a 1tsp of vanilla butternut extract to the batter also. This was Awesome and everyone loved it at a recent party and requested the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
After reading the reviews, I cut the sugar and rum in half. It was perfect that way! I've served this for the last two Thanksgivings and it has been a big hit. My brother-in-law normally hates sweet potatoes, but he LOVED this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
When my husband and I tasted this we looked at each other and knew that I'd never have to search for ANY OTHER sweet potato casserole recipe ever. This is THE ONE. I'm southern bred and I can say this one knocks all the other casseroles of the potluck (or turkey day) table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKTERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good! A bit too much rum for me, so I will reduce the rum amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I've made this for several Thanksgiving and Christmas celebrations, and it always gets rave reviews! I use canned sweet potatoes, usually, and spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I make this recipe every year, and every year it's a hit. I do make a few modifications, though. Cut the sugar in half and use 1/4 cup of bourbon in place of rum. Everyone always asks for the recipe and I've never thrown away any leftovers of this. It's truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States